Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Dear all, I am trying to install NIST Net on Scientific Linux 4.0. I can compile NIST Net source successfully but when I load NIST Net module, I raised an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5

    can not load module RTC on Scientific Linux 4.0


    Dear all,

    I am trying to install NIST Net on Scientific Linux 4.0. I can compile NIST Net source successfully but when I load NIST Net module, I raised an error about RTC module.

    From the Internet, I recompiled kernel Linux with CONFIG_RTC=m in file .config

    After restarting, I ran RTC module but it was not successful.
    Here is my log:

    [root(a)localhost ~]# cd /usr/src/redhat/BUILD/kernel-2.6.9/linux-2.6.9/
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# find . -name rtc.o -print
    ./drivers/char/rtc.o

    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# find /lib/modules/ -name rtc.o -print
    /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/rtc.o
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# lsmod | grep rtc
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    nls_utf8 2113 1
    parport_pc 24705 1
    lp 12077 0
    parport 37129 2 parport_pc,lp
    autofs4 23237 0
    i2c_dev 11329 0
    i2c_core 22081 1 i2c_dev
    sunrpc 157093 1
    button 6481 0
    battery 8901 0
    ac 4805 0
    md5 4033 1
    ipv6 232833 8
    pcnet32 29897 0
    mii 4673 1 pcnet32
    floppy 58481 0
    dm_snapshot 17029 0
    dm_zero 2369 0
    dm_mirror 22957 2
    ext3 116809 2
    jbd 71257 1 ext3
    dm_mod 54741 6 dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]#
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# lsmod | grep r*
    Module Size Used by
    nls_utf8 2113 1
    parport_pc 24705 1
    lp 12077 0
    parport 37129 2 parport_pc,lp
    autofs4 23237 0
    i2c_dev 11329 0
    i2c_core 22081 1 i2c_dev
    sunrpc 157093 1
    button 6481 0
    battery 8901 0
    ac 4805 0
    md5 4033 1
    ipv6 232833 8
    pcnet32 29897 0
    mii 4673 1 pcnet32
    floppy 58481 0
    dm_snapshot 17029 0
    dm_zero 2369 0
    dm_mirror 22957 2
    ext3 116809 2
    jbd 71257 1 ext3
    dm_mod 54741 6 dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror

    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# modprobe rtc
    FATAL: Module rtc not found.

    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# uname -r
    2.6.9-5.0.5.EL

    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# pwd
    /usr/src/redhat/BUILD/kernel-2.6.9/linux-2.6.9
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]#
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# rmmod rtc_cmos
    ERROR: Module rtc_cmos does not exist in /proc/modules
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# modprobe rtc
    FATAL: Module rtc not found.

    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# cd /root/NISTNet/nistnet-3.0a/
    [root(a)localhost nistnet-3.0a]# ./Load.Nistnet
    ERROR: Module rtc does not exist in /proc/modules
    Couldn't find rtc module - /dev/rtc will be mostly
    unusable after running nistnet. Sorry about that....
    To prevent this message, recompile rtc
    (Enhanced Real Time Clock Support, under
    character devices) as a module.
    FATAL: Module nistnet not found.
    Problems with modprobe, repeating with debug on
    FATAL: Module nistnet not found.

    [root(a)localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    Obviously, we could find rtc.o in /drivers/char/rtc.o and /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/rtc.o but can not load this module by using modprobe.

    Please help me how to load RTC module.

    I appreciate your help.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    I am sorry. About this command:
    [root(a)localhost linux-2.6.9]# find /lib/modules/ -name rtc.o -print
    /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/rtc.o
    In fact, I stupidly copied rtc.o from <kernel dir>/drivers/char/rtc.o to /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/. Actually, When I typed this command, nothing was returned. So, the module rtc was not installed.

    I can find rtc.o in <kernel dir>/drivers/char/rtc.o ---> RTC module had been compiled.

    I can't find rtc.o in /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/ ---> this module hadn't installed ---> HOW can I install rtc module?

    Thank you very much.

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    For 2.6 kernel, I believe you want a ".ko" file, not a ".o" file. When you compiled it, you should have created the correct driver, it would be in the same output directory. Can you load it manually?, e.g.:
    Code:
    insmod <kernel dir>/drivers/char/rtc.ko
    If so, copy it to /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char and do a:
    Code:
    depmod -a
    Then you should be able to do "modprobe rtc".

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Dear,

    This is the log I tested in my Virtual Machine:

    [root@localhost char]# cd /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/
    [root@localhost 2.6.9-5.0.5.EL]# ls
    build modules.alias modules.ieee1394map modules.pcimap source
    extra modules.ccwmap modules.inputmap modules.symbols
    kernel modules.dep modules.isapnpmap modules.usbmap
    [root@localhost 2.6.9-5.0.5.EL]# cd kernel/drivers/char/
    [root@localhost char]# ls
    crash.ko hangcheck-timer.ko ipmi nvram.ko rtc.ko synclinkmp.ko
    drm hw_random.ko lp.ko pcmcia sonypi.ko toshiba.ko
    dtlk.ko i8k.ko n_hdlc.ko ppdev.ko synclink.ko watchdog
    [root@localhost char]# ls -la
    total 1824
    drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 4096 Sep 28 15:56 .
    drwxr-xr-x 26 root root 4096 Sep 28 15:58 ..
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 83528 Sep 28 15:56 crash.ko
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Sep 28 15:56 drm
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 96008 Sep 28 15:56 dtlk.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 83109 Sep 28 15:56 hangcheck-timer.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 100899 Sep 28 15:56 hw_random.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 97865 Sep 28 15:56 i8k.ko
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Sep 28 15:56 ipmi
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 113353 Sep 28 15:56 lp.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 108302 Sep 28 15:56 n_hdlc.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 107006 Sep 28 15:56 nvram.ko
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Sep 28 15:56 pcmcia
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 108770 Sep 28 15:56 ppdev.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 137900 Sep 28 15:56 rtc.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 157660 Sep 28 15:56 sonypi.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 250065 Sep 28 15:56 synclink.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 218338 Sep 28 15:56 synclinkmp.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 90586 Sep 28 15:56 toshiba.ko
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Sep 28 15:56 watchdog
    [root@localhost char]# depmod -a
    [root@localhost char]# modprobe rtc
    [root@localhost char]# lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    rtc 17628 0
    nls_utf8 2304 1
    parport_pc 25024 1
    lp 12396 0
    parport 37704 2 parport_pc,lp
    autofs4 23684 0
    i2c_dev 11776 0
    i2c_core 22528 1 i2c_dev
    sunrpc 157924 1
    button 6928 0
    battery 9220 0
    ac 5124 0
    md5 4352 1
    ipv6 233920 10
    ehci_hcd 31236 0
    uhci_hcd 31256 0
    pcnet32 30216 0
    mii 4992 1 pcnet32
    floppy 58800 0
    dm_snapshot 16964 0
    dm_zero 2304 0
    dm_mirror 22892 2
    ext3 116744 2
    jbd 71192 1 ext3
    dm_mod 54548 6 dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror
    [root@localhost char]# cd /root/NISTNet/nistnet-3.0a/
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# ./Load.Nistnet
    rtc module removed - you may want to reinstall it
    (with modprobe rtc) after you are done with nistnet
    nistnet module installed successfully
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# lsmod
    Module Size Used by
    nistnet 60600 0
    nls_utf8 2304 1
    parport_pc 25024 1
    lp 12396 0
    parport 37704 2 parport_pc,lp
    autofs4 23684 0
    i2c_dev 11776 0
    i2c_core 22528 1 i2c_dev
    sunrpc 157924 1
    button 6928 0
    battery 9220 0
    ac 5124 0
    md5 4352 1
    ipv6 233920 10
    ehci_hcd 31236 0
    uhci_hcd 31256 0
    pcnet32 30216 0
    mii 4992 1 pcnet32
    floppy 58800 0
    dm_snapshot 16964 0
    dm_zero 2304 0
    dm_mirror 22892 2
    ext3 116744 2
    jbd 71192 1 ext3
    dm_mod 54548 6 dm_snapshot,dm_zero,dm_mirror
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# lsmod | grep rtc
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# modprobe rt
    FATAL: Module rt not found.
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# modprobe rtc
    FATAL: Error inserting rtc (/lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/rtc.ko): Input/output error
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# modprobe rtc
    FATAL: Error inserting rtc (/lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/rtc.ko): Input/output error
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# cd /lib/modules/2.6.9-5.0.5.EL/kernel/drivers/char/
    [root@localhost char]# ls
    crash.ko hangcheck-timer.ko ipmi nvram.ko rtc.ko synclinkmp.ko
    drm hw_random.ko lp.ko pcmcia sonypi.ko toshiba.ko
    dtlk.ko i8k.ko n_hdlc.ko ppdev.ko synclink.ko watchdog
    [root@localhost char]# insmod rtc.ko
    insmod: error inserting 'rtc.ko': -1 Input/output error
    [root@localhost char]# insmod rtc.ko
    insmod: error inserting 'rtc.ko': -1 Input/output error
    [root@localhost char]#
    [root@localhost char]#

    [root@localhost char]#
    [root@localhost char]# cd /root/NISTNet/nistnet-3.0a/
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]# ./Load.Nistnet
    ERROR: Module rtc does not exist in /proc/modules
    Couldn't find rtc module - /dev/rtc will be mostly
    unusable after running nistnet. Sorry about that....
    To prevent this message, recompile rtc
    (Enhanced Real Time Clock Support, under
    character devices) as a module.
    nistnet module installed successfully
    [root@localhost nistnet-3.0a]#
    I can start the software but I don't understand why I couldn't load RTC module

    BUT when I installed Scientific Linux 4.0 and NIST Net on my real server, I could not start rtc.
    [root@localhost char]# depmod -a
    [root@localhost char]# insmod rtc.ko
    insmod: error inserting 'rtc.ko': -1 Input/output error
    Why did the OS raised this error anh how can I resolve it?

    I appreciate your help.

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4,353
    I'm not familiar with nistnet - does it need the rtc module loaded? Are you trying to run the nistnet from this page? If so, they say:

    Load the rtc kernel module. NistNet wants to unload this module, do not worry if it is not present.

    Is the module/app not working as it should?

    Maybe you need to try their suggestion regarding the 2.6.23 kernel.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •