Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, (Warning, might be a stupid question ) I have heard and read that puppy linux always runs its users as root, is that true? And if so is there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Puppy Linux, quick question

Hi,
    (Warning, might be a stupid question )

I have heard and read that puppy linux always runs its users as root, is that true? And if so is there a way to make it not that way? Like maybe have a new user that isn't root after installing the OS?

I haven't done much with puppy other then as a live CD, and it never came to mind that root might not be a good idea at all times.

Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Hi,
    Thanks

I probably don't need to worry about running as root, but I do

I am having a hard time figuring out how to install stuff in the terminal I am used to using sudo and su -c but puppy now doesn't use either. Will have to see what I can find online

Forget su or sudo in regular Puppy linux. ***** Linux is the best debian compatible Puppy I know of right now that lets you install debian packages through a terminal or download with dpkg --install command.

Puppy Linux Discussion Forum :: View topic - *****: potentially a Puppy with a perfect package manager

You are already root so su and sudo is not needed. Puppy programs are .pets converted from .debs and .rpms and source files. So you will look through (to assist your searches)

Puppy Google Search

for any .pet package you are looking for. You can also convert .deb files to .pets once you get used to running puppy linux also. I have done this for pianobar for puppy linux 5.2 .
    Puppy Linux Discussion Forum :: View topic - terminal applications