Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi all, First a disclaimer: I am not an expert and I dont know much about linux so my issue might be simple (I hope)... I have bought a NetGEAR ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

So many issues dont know where to start.

hi all,

First a disclaimer: I am not an expert and I dont know much about linux so my issue might be simple (I hope)...

I have bought a NetGEAR ReadyNAS with linux preinstalled. I would like to do some perl programming on it. Now this is where the challenges start. A can create a simple "hello world" perl script - it works. So now I would like to install a perl-module from cpan and I am in deep water. The module is Mechanize and its the first module I try to install on the NAS.

1) I tried using perl -MCPAN -e 'shell' - It says that CPAN.pm does not exist.

2) Then I tried to find a CPAN package because I hoped I could just install it using apt-get install. I cannot find such a package (I can show my sources.list if that is relevant?). I tried to find it using apt-cache search cpan

3) Then I downloaded the CPAN module decompressed it and tried to build it using perl Makefile.PL. now it says "Can't locate ExtUtils/MakeMaker.pm".

I dont know what kind of distribution this is - or if it is a distribution. I wonder if thats important - or if it can limit me in some way. Making some-perl modules unavailable.

When I search for perl : find / -name "perl*" I get matches for both
    */perl
    and
    */perl5

and that makes me wonder if I have installed two version of perl making the perl installation "bad".

phew... maybe one of you guys can point me in the right direction..

Thanks in advance
    Simon

As it's running on a NAS, you may find that you don't have all the tools included to make this work properly. The version of Linux installed on it is likely to be just enough to provide the NAS services of the box.