Find the answer to your Linux question:
Greetings, I have only used Windows all my entire life. But recently my HDD failed. Atm, I do not have the resources to buy a replacement. So I have loaded ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question (Slacko - Puppy Linux USB) A few configuration questions

Greetings,
    I have only used Windows all my entire life. But recently my HDD failed. Atm, I do not have the resources to buy a replacement.
    So I have loaded the most recent version of Slacko - Puppy Linux onto a 2GB USB. The idea is to use this OS for the browser for the time being. I have been relative successful configuring my USB device etc. But I have a few issues and confusions I hope someone out there could lend me some advice about.

Going in, please understand I am new to all that is linux. I did search before posting this. But all solutions that are relate appear to me as complete gibberish and running random code that previously did/may corrupt my install really setsme back. I'm PC literate, but if you wouldn't mind going into detail or putting your response into a way a non linux user could easily understand.

Issue #1: Freezing
    My puppy linux is guaranteed to freeze after more than about 4 hours. During the freeze, the screen is what was previous displayed but completely still and there is a low volume buzzing sound. I reboot and its fine for another few hours. Rinse and repeat.

Currently I am using the ndiswrapper to load in my WUSB600N v.1 usb wireless adapter's module or driver. The device works properly. I don't know if this is causing the freezing, but I do know that it is not reliable. But I wasn't successful otherwise as my device isn't supported within the install. Which leads into my next question.

I also thought space on the USB my be running out after awhile. When I first saved (during first reboot) I set the space to 756mb (or close to).