Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, I am new to this unix/linux stuff and I really need help on my assignment. I am stuck on number 9-28. I don't need it to be solved, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

PuTTy // Need help on assignment.

Hi guys, I am new to this unix/linux stuff and I really need help on my assignment. I am stuck on number 9-28. I don't need it to be solved, I just need to know how to find the location of the ssh utility. Is it "which ssh"?
    And to find related to the ssh utility it's "whereis ssh"?
    Also, for number 11 how are you able to see what's inside the files without using the "cat" to display it?

I am using PuTTy program on windows 7.

1 Log in and type script at the prompt. The system will respond with

Script started, file is typescript

This means that the system will start “recording” all your input and output into a file named typescript.

2 Type this command to copy a compressed file archive to your directory.

cp ~linux199/a2files.tar.bz2 .

Note that there is a blank and a period at the end of the command; you must type both of them or the command won’t work.

3 Unpack the file. Hint: see pages 62-65, especially the “optional” box on page 65. Pay close attention to the last paragraphs of that box and adapt the commands to do this item. Read more about the tar command.

4 Display the contents of file announce.txt (hint: page 4. This file contains part of Linus Torvalds’s announcement of the first version of Linux.

5 Copy file announce.txt to file announce2.txt.

6 Use the interactive option when copying file states to file announce2.txt; respond n when asked if you want to overwrite announce2.txt

7 Display the contents of file announce2.txt.

8 Display the contents of file dijkstra.txt one screen at a time.

9 Find the location of the ssh utility.

10 Find the location of files related to the ssh utility.

11 List the users currently on the system.