Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hello I wonder if someoene could help me with my installation of Proxmox VE 3.0 on HP DL 380 G5 with HP array P400 (BBWC) {Proxmox is based on Debian} ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7

    Help installing Proxmox VE 3.0 on HP DL380 G5


    Hello I wonder if someoene could help me with my installation of Proxmox VE 3.0 on HP DL 380 G5 with HP array P400 (BBWC)

    {Proxmox is based on Debian}

    The installation seems to run without a hitch until I reboot, during which GRUB loads to stage1 and then the system dies.

    I get the following error
    [Firmware bug]: the BIOS has corrupted Hw - PMU Resources MSR186 is 43003c

    ERST: Failed to get Error log Address range

    Kernel Panic - not syncing: VFS :Unable to mount root FS on unknown block (0,0).

    any help or pointers would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by H-Lnx View Post
    Hello I wonder if someoene could help me with my installation of Proxmox VE 3.0 on HP DL 380 G5 with HP array P400 (BBWC)

    {Proxmox is based on Debian}

    The installation seems to run without a hitch until I reboot, during which GRUB loads to stage1 and then the system dies.

    I get the following error
    [Firmware bug]: the BIOS has corrupted Hw - PMU Resources MSR186 is 43003c

    ERST: Failed to get Error log Address range

    Kernel Panic - not syncing: VFS :Unable to mount root FS on unknown block (0,0).

    any help or pointers would be appreciated.

    Thanks.
    Hi please could i get some help with this issue, I experienced the same problem when I try to install Ubuntu Server 12.04 LTS on the HP DL380 G5. The intsall runs to completion however a reboot just goes to stage 1 and crashes with a similar error shown above. I suspect it is related to maybe the system not seeing the logical drives on the HP400 Array?

    Please any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

    Many thanks.

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,398
    The first error is about a corrupt firmware.
    So I would first update ilo, bios, raidfirmware
    And then try again to install this rather old machine.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7

    all firmware uo to date, but install dies after a reboot

    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    The first error is about a corrupt firmware.
    So I would first update ilo, bios, raidfirmware
    And then try again to install this rather old machine.
    Hello Irithori,

    The BIOS, ILo ad RAID firware are all up to date and still UBUNTU 12.04 LTS 64-bit does fail to boot up after a trouble-free installation.

    I suspect this boot failure has to do with GRUB, The installation does detect the scsi disc on the HP400 array controller as /dev/cciss/c0d0.

    Please is there any other pointer?

  5. #5
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,398
    /dev/cciss/c0d0 is normal for an hp raid controller.

    You might want to try an install of centos 6, which is a binary compatible clone of redhat.
    Redhat spends quite a lot of work certifying hardware and adapting the kernel/modules/firmware to provide a stable platform.
    At the time as the g5 was new, ubuntu was not yet at the same level.

    The g5 is supported and certified by redhat/centos 6, plus it should be relatively fast to download and install centos 6.
    https://hardware.redhat.com/show.cgi?id=652299
    http://isoredirect.centos.org/centos/6/isos/x86_64/

    If it works with that OS, then you might want to consider using it.
    If not, then some kind of hardware failure is likely.
    There is a diagnostic cd from hp to test for that.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    /dev/cciss/c0d0 is normal for an hp raid controller.

    You might want to try an install of centos 6, which is a binary compatible clone of redhat.
    Redhat spends quite a lot of work certifying hardware and adapting the kernel/modules/firmware to provide a stable platform.
    At the time as the g5 was new, ubuntu was not yet at the same level.

    The g5 is supported and certified by redhat/centos 6, plus it should be relatively fast to download and install centos 6.

    If it works with that OS, then you might want to consider using it.
    If not, then some kind of hardware failure is likely.
    There is a diagnostic cd from hp to test for that.
    Hi Irithori,

    I did not encounter any hardware failure as I did extensive tests on all components with Smart Start 8.70 64-bit for this server. If Centos works, I doubt it would actually resolve the issue of helping me install the Proxmox VE hypervisor.

    Could it be possible that I may need to boot into rescue mode and manually mount the scsi drive unto /dev/cciss/c0d0 by editing /etc/fstab and maybe palying around with GRUB?

    thanks

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Irithori's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    3,398
    No it wont help you install proxmox, but it would show the point that proxmox misses firmware/patches.

    Ymmv, but I would feel uneasy with a manually patched system as a basis for business.
    Especially if we are talking about a hypervisor, which then runs multiple OS.
    Plus, on each (kernel)update the manual steps likely need to be done again.

    As I said, a testinstall of centos6 can be done relatively quick plus you can run a hypervisor on that platform too.
    Although not as specialized as proxmox seems to be.

    So in the end you need to decide where to put effort in.


    Hmm, but please show the output of /etc/fstab and the blkids of all devices.
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Irithori View Post
    No it wont help you install proxmox, but it would show the point that proxmox misses firmware/patches.

    Ymmv, but I would feel uneasy with a manually patched system as a basis for business.
    Especially if we are talking about a hypervisor, which then runs multiple OS.
    Plus, on each (kernel)update the manual steps likely need to be done again.

    As I said, a testinstall of centos6 can be done relatively quick plus you can run a hypervisor on that platform too.
    Although not as specialized as proxmox seems to be.

    So in the end you need to decide where to put effort in.


    Hmm, but please show the output of /etc/fstab and the blkids of all devices.
    Hello Mate, here is the output from blkid and the fstab.

    *********************start of BLKID******************

    /dev/sr0: LABEL="Ubuntu-Server 12.04.1 LTS i386" TYPE="iso9660"
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p1: UUID="d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184" TYPE="ext4"
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p5: UUID="4cb53111-6a6d-4f43-8098-b64fd453ef01" TYPE="swap"
    /dev/sda: UUID="9C89-9AA5" TYPE="vfat"


    *********************Start of FDISK***************

    Disk /dev/sda: 1024 MB, 1024966656 bytes
    32 heads, 62 sectors/track, 1009 cylinders, total 2001888 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x6f20736b

    This doesn't look like a partition table
    Probably you selected the wrong device.

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 ? 778135908 1919645538 570754815+ 5b Unknown
    /dev/sda2 ? 168689522 2104717761 968014120 65 Novell Netware 386
    /dev/sda3 ? 1869881465 3805909656 968014096 79 Unknown
    /dev/sda4 ? 2885681152 2885736650 27749+ d Unknown

    Partition table entries are not in disk order

    Disk /dev/cciss/c0d0: 146.8 GB, 146778685440 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 17844 cylinders, total 286677120 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x000871a0

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p1 * 2048 269903871 134950912 83 Linux
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p2 269905918 286676991 8385537 5 Extended
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p5 269905920 286676991 8385536 82 Linux swap / Solaris


    *****************start of FSTAB***************************
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'blkid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
    # device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
    # that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc nodev,noexec,nosuid 0 0
    # / was on /dev/cciss/c0d0p1 during installation
    UUID=d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184 / ext4 errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # swap was on /dev/cciss/c0d0p5 during installation
    UUID=4cb53111-6a6d-4f43-8098-b64fd453ef01 none swap sw 0 0

    **************START of /boot/Grub.cfg****************************************** ****


    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
    set have_grubenv=true
    load_env
    fi
    set default="0"
    if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
    set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
    save_env saved_entry
    set prev_saved_entry=
    save_env prev_saved_entry
    set boot_once=true
    fi

    function savedefault {
    if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
    fi
    }

    function recordfail {
    set recordfail=1
    if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
    }

    function load_video {
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
    }

    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184
    if loadfont /usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2 ; then
    set gfxmode=auto
    load_video
    insmod gfxterm
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184
    set locale_dir=($root)/boot/grub/locale
    set lang=en_GB
    insmod gettext
    fi
    terminal_output gfxterm
    if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ]; then
    set timeout=-1
    else
    set timeout=2
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    set menu_color_normal=white/black
    set menu_color_highlight=black/light-gray
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    function gfxmode {
    set gfxpayload="${1}"
    if [ "${1}" = "keep" ]; then
    set vt_handoff=vt.handoff=7
    else
    set vt_handoff=
    fi
    }
    if [ "${recordfail}" != 1 ]; then
    if [ -e ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt ]; then
    if hwmatch ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt 3; then
    if [ ${match} = 0 ]; then
    set linux_gfx_mode=keep
    else
    set linux_gfx_mode=text
    fi
    else
    set linux_gfx_mode=text
    fi
    else
    set linux_gfx_mode=keep
    fi
    else
    set linux_gfx_mode=text
    fi
    export linux_gfx_mode
    if [ "${linux_gfx_mode}" != "text" ]; then load_video; fi
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-29-generic-pae' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    recordfail
    gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
    insmod gzio
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-29-generic-pae root=UUID=d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184 ro noapic nodmraid
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-29-generic-pae
    }
    menuentry 'Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-29-generic-pae (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    recordfail
    insmod gzio
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184
    echo 'Loading Linux 3.2.0-29-generic-pae ...'
    linux /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-29-generic-pae root=UUID=d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184 ro recovery nomodeset noapic nodmraid
    echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-29-generic-pae
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin
    }
    menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root d965e082-b528-48e0-ac60-9524c2dd1184
    linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries. Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment. Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    if [ -f $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
    source $prefix/custom.cfg;
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###



    ************************************End of files ***********
    Last edited by H-Lnx; 07-09-2013 at 02:10 AM.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    7
    Guys and Gals, this is getting a bit desperate, please could anyone help me get over this obstacle?

    Thanks

    Regards

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by H-Lnx View Post
    I did not encounter any hardware failure as I did extensive tests on all components with Smart Start 8.70 64-bit for this server. If Centos works, I doubt it would actually resolve the issue of helping me install the Proxmox VE hypervisor.
    Think you will find that SmartStart is outdated for this I believe. I can't paste URLs but I suggest you go back to HP and check your downloads.

    At HP also search for your ERST error :

    Document Id=5268290 HP ProLiant DL560 Gen8 Server*-* Advisory: Linux - The Linux Kernel Reports "APEI Error ERST Failed to Get Error Log Address Range on RH6.3" When Booting an HP ProLiant Gen8-Series Server With ACPI Platform Error Interface (APEI) Advanced Power Manag

    Re Firmware a quick search reveals a few things :

    check

    bugs . launchpad . net for 746751
    bugs . debian . org for 617891


    But I think this is most telling :

    Document.jsp ID=c03265132

    HP ProLiant BL680c G7 Server Blade*-* Advisory: (Revision) Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 - "[Firmware Bug]: The BIOS Has Corrupted Hw-PMU Resources" Message Can Be Safely Ignored - c03265132 - HP Business Support Center

    So my guess is your problem is elsewhere. I have a ML310 G5 which has both these errors but boots Proxmox 3 fine.

    Beyond that have a good search and read.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •