Find the answer to your Linux question:
HI, I'm new to Linux I used a free program which installs a distribution on a usb flash drive to be used. Some of you may know the one I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Problems with booting from USB

HI, I'm new to Linux

I used a free program which installs a distribution on a usb flash drive to be used. Some of you may know the one I speak of.

I use it to install "ubderstudent" on it, and it starts up just fine, however the problem comes when I start it up a second time.

When I start it up, it treats it as the first time I have ever used it, that is, that it hasn't saved any of the software I installed, any of the user accounts I created, any of the files I saved... you get the idea.

Does anyone know why it treats every startup via the USB as a brand new start? and how I can fix it? I don't really want to install it on a seperate partition on my hard drive and would love to be able to boot it from the USB flash drive, but it's not going to be possible unless I can save stuff when using it.

EDIT: Now I've had a look around the site, this might be worth moving to the "newbie" section

Give UNetbootin a try to make up a "Live" USB stick to do the install. It's super simple to use and works with all Linux Distros that I've tried. Then, after you give that a try get back to us.

Just Joined!
    That's the very thing I used.

It isn't isolated to UberStudent, I tried the same with Trisquel, same problem, it treats each time I boot it up as the first time I've ever booted it up.

Unless you're running an Ubuntu variant and add persistence when you install the iso you'll not keep any settings so when you reboot to the Live USB it'll always be like the first time you booted to it.

Linux Guru