Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! Darth4212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hobart, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    2

    GRUB 2 Kali Linux


    I was wondering if there was a way to edit the names of the items on the Grub bootloader. Like I have one that says: "Windows 10 on (dva/10)" (I know that it isn't correct but that is besides the point) and I wanted to rename it to :"Windows 10". I know it is a small insignificant thing but it just bothers me. Also is there a way to change what position it occurs on the list like it goes: 1. Kali Linux 2.Kali Linux Advanced 3. Windows Recovery Environment 4. Windows 10. But I want it to be: 1. Kali Linux 2. Windows 10 3. Kali Linux Advanced 4. Windows Recovery Environment.

  2. #2
    it is possible to do that by manually editing /boot/grub/grub.cfg but that will be overwritten after every grub update.
    there might be other possibilities, please read grub documentation.
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Darth4212's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Hobart, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by nihili View Post
    it is possible to do that by manually editing /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    I know that on Ubuntu there is a graphical program to edit Grub would you happen to know the repository because I am pretty certain that Ubuntu programs are compatible with Linux. I am dual booting with Windows also maybe there is a program to edit Grub from Windows?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Segfault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Acadiana
    Posts
    1,467
    There are two types of Kali users.
    1. Experienced sysadmins who run it from USB stick when needed.
    2. Noobs who think Kali is cool and try to use it as everyday Linux distro - it is totally unsuitable for this purpose, BTW.

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Darth4212 View Post
    I know that on Ubuntu there is a graphical program to edit Grub would you happen to know the repository because I am pretty certain that Ubuntu programs are compatible with Linux.
    ubuntu is a type of linux.
    but, ubuntu repositories are not compatible with debian (which kali is based upon).
    so, no.



    maybe there is a program to edit Grub from Windows?
    no again.


    i have the feeling that you are very unexperienced with linux and operating systems in general.
    i think you should strongly consider installing one of the desktop distributions from here:
    https://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=major
    instead of kali:
    You are being redirected...
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Zurich, Schweiz
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by Darth4212 View Post
    I was wondering if there was a way to edit the names of the items on the Grub bootloader. Like I have one that says: "Windows 10 on (dva/10)" (I know that it isn't correct but that is besides the point) and I wanted to rename it to :"Windows 10". I know it is a small insignificant thing but it just bothers me. Also is there a way to change what position it occurs on the list like it goes: 1. Kali Linux 2.Kali Linux Advanced 3. Windows Recovery Environment 4. Windows 10. But I want it to be: 1. Kali Linux 2. Windows 10 3. Kali Linux Advanced 4. Windows Recovery Environment.
    The grub-customizer will do just fine.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by greekfreak View Post
    The grub-customizer will do just fine.
    i disagree.
    there's no grub-customizer package for debian.
    adding a ubuntu ppa is not recommended:
    https://wiki.debian.org/DontBreakDebian

    maybe startupmanager can help.

    but anyhow, i stick to my strong warning from my previous post.
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Zurich, Schweiz
    Posts
    14
    There is no need to add the launchpad ppa on the sources.list, just install the tarball.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by greekfreak View Post
    There is no need to add the launchpad ppa on the sources.list, just install the tarball.
    pray enlighten me, how do you install a tarball?
    How to ask smart questions | Don't be a Help Vampire
    You can post a link by removing "http://www." from it!

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Zurich, Schweiz
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by nihili View Post
    pray enlighten me, how do you install a tarball?
    Sorry for that I was in a hurry. Untar and install the deb I meant.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •