Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Embedded linux autostart program after booting

Hi all,

First of all, it's the first time I'm trying to let an application autostart after booting. As well I'm quite new to embedded systems. It is a very steep learning curve.

So I hope I'm at the correct place with my question.

I created an application in qtcreator. this I copied onto my development board where I'm running embedded linux 3.2.0.

Next I did the following steps:

1. I first of all tested the app by the following command in my terminal: ./CANbus_TerminalLogger_2Busses -qws This worked like a charm.

2. I placed the executable app in to the directory /etc/. The app is called CANbus_TerminalLogger_2Busses

3. created a file in the /etc/init.d directory with the name S54CANapp
    Screenshot from 2017-06-16 14:08:57.png

4. In the file I used a skeleton that I found on the web, and changed it to my wishes. (I think here is the mistake)
    HTML Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    . /etc/CANbus_TerminalLogger_2Busses -qws

start() {
            echo -n "Starting CANapp: "
            #./etc/CANbus_TerminalLogger_2Busses -qws
    }

stop() {
            echo -n "Shutting down CANapp: "
            killall CANbus_TerminalLogger_2Busses
    }

case "$1" in
        start)
            start
            ;;
        stop)
            stop
            ;;
        restart)
            stop
            start
            ;;
        *)
            echo "Usage: CANapp {start|stop|restart}"
            exit 1
            ;;
    esac
    exit $?
    ~
    So when I reboot the system now, the program doesn't start up.

Is anybody able to tell me what I'm doing wrong?
    It's probably something very stupid!

Kind regards,
    TMJJ