Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Does anyone use Yoper on a laptop? I read in some of the documentations that an AGP card is required to run X and KDE? Is this really the case? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    34

    Yoper on laptops?


    Does anyone use Yoper on a laptop? I read in some of the documentations that an AGP card is required to run X and KDE? Is this really the case? thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    It should work, but it really depends what kind of laptop you're talking about. I haven't heard anything about Yoper not working on laptops specifically before. The only major difference between Yoper and other distros is that it's optimized for i686 processors. So if you don't have an i686 processor on the laptop in question, it will not work, of course.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    34
    i am assuming a 1.13 P3 -m is a i686? I thought i read somewhere that all P3 would be classified as i686?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Yoper is a i586 standard, not i686 stantard architecture, so Yoper should work on the P3 you have;
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    87

    Re: Yoper on laptops?

    Quote Originally Posted by metallicafan
    Does anyone use Yoper on a laptop? I read in some of the documentations that an AGP card is required to run X and KDE? Is this really the case? thanks
    I had problems installing YOS 2.1.0-4 on my Compaq Evo N1015v laptop. It didn't cause problems when installing other distros (like Debian or Suse) so it was Yoper specific and it didn't work on Yoper although I tried hard.
    With 2.2 (testing) I also had problems but it did install.

    On the other hand, on my mom's Sony VAIO is didn't cause any problems, except for 3d not working (ATI card). So I guess it strongly depends on the specific hardware you have.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    34
    michux - thanks for the reply i think i might try it on my laptop i can always take it off if it dont work


    dylunio - i just looked on Yoper's website and it is a i686 standard

  8. #7
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Quote Originally Posted by metallicafan
    dylunio - i just looked on Yoper's website and it is a i686 standard
    err, sorry about that, I think I need new glasses.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    34
    hahaha no problem man

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    473
    A. The i686 version of Yoper desktop supports the following CPU's:

    * Pentium II
    * Pentium Pro/ Celeron
    * Pentium III /Celeron Coppermine
    * Pentium 4 /Xeon
    * Athlon/Duron/K7 (Athlon-xp and Athlon-mp)
    * Cyrix M2
    There you go, basicly any pentium, and a few others...

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1

    ATHLOn - XP-M

    The installation went without a hitch(as far as I can tell, very blind installation).. after the reboot I chose YOS from LILO then I saw the 2 two lines with the BIOS bla bla, and then when it usually changes the resolutrion my laptop died, nothing was active, HDD, KBD, Screen ... nothing! I don't know what's wrong.... has someone had the same situation?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •