Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hi, i've installed yoper yesterday... great distribution! but everytime i press ctrl+alt+f2/f3/f4... my computer freezes... any ideas? thanks in advance, erik...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8

    linux console doesn't work!!!


    hi, i've installed yoper yesterday... great distribution!
    but everytime i press ctrl+alt+f2/f3/f4...
    my computer freezes... any ideas?

    thanks in advance,
    erik

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    are you in a grapical interface at the time? I think that KDE will interecept those keyboard commands, you would need to type crtl+alt+bkspace to kill the X server. But if you want a terminal, your better off just opening an xterm or the like....
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8

    reply...

    i am in kde at the time, i need a real console, not in x...
    but every time i switch to any console alt+ctrl+f2/3/4/5/6 the computer freezes.... please guys... how to fix this problem?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User IsaacKuo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA, USA
    Posts
    406
    I'm not familiar with Yoper, but I am a KDE user and have never had any problem getting to the text consoles with ctrl-alt-f1...f6. I use Debian based distributions, like Debian, Mepis, and Knoppix.
    Isaac Kuo, ICQ 29055726 or Yahoo mechdan

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    hi former yoper user here.

    during the log in screen in the right hand cornner of the log in box type thingy there should be a pull down list type thing. I gives you choices for differnt window manager and desktop enviorments and such. One of the choices just the basic terminal. hope that helps and it may not be exactly where I said it was but it should be.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8

    i really don't know what to do...

    do i need to reinstall the console...? how to do it? new kernel?
    did anybody had this problem?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157

    Re: i really don't know what to do...

    Quote Originally Posted by erikash
    do i need to reinstall the console...? how to do it? new kernel?
    did anybody had this problem?
    This shouldn't be needed, do as blackbronze99 suggested

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    8

    thanks for the reply!

    Quote Originally Posted by blackbronze99
    hi former yoper user here.

    during the log in screen in the right hand cornner of the log in box type thingy there should be a pull down list type thing. I gives you choices for differnt window manager and desktop enviorments and such. One of the choices just the basic terminal. hope that helps and it may not be exactly where I said it was but it should be.
    i did what you said... it porbably was "console login", i pressed it and it did go into console... i logged in started x and it worked! (for some reason the fonts were smaller...?) but again as i pressed alt+ctr+F/1/2/3/4/5/6 from kde the computer froze at the console! why does it freezes????

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    3
    probly a bug in KDE...Use synaptic to update yours. Besides Black-Box is better.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •