Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Well, i put windows on after linux, and it wrote over my mbr. Last time i was using grub, so it was very easy to fix, but now i am ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    89

    How do i re-install MBR?


    Well, i put windows on after linux, and it wrote over my mbr. Last time i was using grub, so it was very easy to fix, but now i am using lilo and dont know how to fix it. Can anyone help me out? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru anomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,692
    I believe it's just
    Code:
    /sbin/lilo
    Someone will correct me if I'm wrong..

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    I think the Mepis live cd has a nice way to reinstall Grub.
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    The Knoppix Live-CD and SystemRescueCD can also reinstall LILO for you.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    89
    ok, so where do i type /sbin/lilo? And i dont have any of those live cd's or a rescue cd. All i have is a yoper live cd, will that work?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6,110
    There may well be some sort of recovery on the installer disk. (Though I haven't used that distro myself). Pop it in and see if there's a recovery tool, it may even have an option to reinstall the mbr on the menu like some other distros.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    89
    well, it does not have any rescue feature that i know about, when i boot from the cd, it just puts me into a terminal and tells me to type "yoper" to install. No rescue or MBR options. Is there a command that i could type in the terminal to fix the MBR?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    89
    How can i re-install lilo from a live cd? I heard you just type "lilo" at the console but you have to be on the root yoper partition. How can i mount my root partition from a live cd? Thanks.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    89
    Never mind, i got it.

  10. #10
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    Make a windows boot disk and at A:/> prompt type fdisk /mbr

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •