Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to linux. I recently purchased a copy of linux xp pro 2006, I found it was the fedora core. I was told there was no keys, activations ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question linux (fedora)xp 2006 activation?

I am new to linux. I recently purchased a copy of linux xp pro 2006, I found it was the fedora core. I was told there was no keys, activations required, When installed it gave me 99 boots only untill activated. How do I go at getting it activated?
    also I was creating a user account & did fine but when I went to use the account it was blocked for use by the root.... I was trying to use the screen savers etc but would not let me due to root running. should I reinstall the os & try again? I tried the dual boot that the system allows but would not let me install on my hard drive w/ win xp.... I installed on another pc I have to practice & put linux on it.... then the problem occured.... I learned dos & know through the training help with linux that there is diferences in the command lines.... not giving up though..... want to dump microsoft & all the bull & will continue on!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by howard hannon
    I am new to linux. I recently purchased a copy of linux xp pro 2006, I found it was the fedora core. I was told there was no keys, activations required, When installed it gave me 99 boots only untill activated. How do I go at getting it activated?
    The only Linux XP 2006 I knwo about is this one:
    http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=linuxxp

The 2006 edition is NOT free, though you can have a free trial.

You purchased it? Then I guess they should give you support on how to activate it.

Most Linux distributions are free, you won't get anything better/worst by paying for it. Commercial Linux distributions charge money because they give support for their products.