Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm totally new to Linux; I'm only trying it because I don't want to retire my old 500MHz i686, and Win98 has been desupported. I'm mostly familiar with Windows (3.1 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

EasyLinux

I'm totally new to Linux; I'm only trying it because I don't want to retire my old 500MHz i686, and Win98 has been desupported. I'm mostly familiar with Windows (3.1 through XP), other than brief flirtations with some oddball systems in my youth -- Apple ][, Amiga 500, AlphaMicro {which is really a minicomputer; both WD16 and 68000 versions}

I hunted around through a list of distros, settled on EasyLinux (alias ELX). Looking at things inside it, I now suspect it's a Fedora derivation, but it's still an "other" overall. However, after installing, I've discovered that the distributor doesn't even have their own website up in more than name only, so no help there.

The issues I'm having involve ELX is not recognizing the built-in soundcard or USB ports of the motherboard, which is a Syntax brand; I can't retreive the model number at the moment, I'll edit it in later if needed. I know absolutely nothing about how Linux handles drivers; I'm sure I'll pick it up quickly, if someone could at least get me pointed in the right direction.

If you've just installed this distribution, you shouldn't have any system-critical stuff on there, so why not just try and install a more mainstream (and well-supported) distribution like Fedora or Redhat Enterprise? SuSE, Mandriva, Debian or Ubuntu might also work for you.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

That's too obvious :)

Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe