Find the answer to your Linux question:
i have been using Linspire for about 8 months now and every "hardcore" linux person keeps tellin me it stinks. Why do people have to bash it? I like the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Cool I like Linspire, So What?

i have been using Linspire for about 8 months now and every "hardcore" linux person keeps tellin me it stinks. Why do people have to bash it? I like the whole CNR thing due to the ease of installin programs i can barely understand how to install a program on Linux yet thats the main reason behind my choosing Linspire as my first Distro. Later on as i learn more i may upgrade to a different Distro. if anyone has any suggestions on Distros that are fairly easy to use, feel free to post them and ill check them out.

This is where someone usually will tell you to go for Xandros which is just as bad (oh boy, I just upset someone)

The reason Linspire is easy to use for you is probably because your use to using Windows and it's programs. No one is or should be expecting you to just know how to use Linux. It's something that happens over time through learning and using the system.

I've used the LinSpire live CD and it's very impressive in the sense that it just has a comfortable desktop environment right off the bat. This is easily done with any distro if you are familiar enough with Linux to know how to configure it that way. LinSpire fills a niche for brand new Linux users who need to ease into their new OS with familiarity. Package management with most distros is very easy these days, and that includes Slackware. Linux is all about choice and serving one's individual needs. LinSpire does that in spades in my book, and I don't blame any new user for choosing it. After all, SuSE charges for its distro as does RedHat Enterprise. Linspire is also coming out with a "free" version called "FreeSpire" sometime this Summer.