Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi everybody. I know really little about Linux, but as my Windoze is out of action, it was time for me to learn to use my Mepis partition. It was ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6

    No GUI!


    Hi everybody. I know really little about Linux, but as my Windoze is out of action, it was time for me to learn to use my Mepis partition. It was working fine till yesterday, but I was trying to learn about upgrading and downloading, and I messed something up.

    I was using Kpackage, and due to some error messages while trying to upgrade Firefox, I attempted to upgrade the dependencies one at a time. When I re-started, I only get a command-line interface, not a GUI.

    I am able to login as root, but don't know what to do next.

    Can anybody help, please?

    I had this Mepis installed by the supplier of the laptop. But I once had a Mepis CD, somewhere...

    When I start up in Linux I get:



    Welcome to Mepis!

    Empty log files... done



    etc, all looks pretty normal, goes on for a few pages, then:




    Starting K Display Manager: kdm

    MEPIS Linux testing/unstable mepis1 tty1

    mepis1 login:




    Then after I login and password...



    Most of the programs included with MEPIS Linux are freely
    redistributable: the exact distribution terms for each program
    are described in the individual files in /usr/share/doc/*/copyright

    MEPIS Linux comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent
    permitted by applicable law.



    then it changes to RED text...


    root@tty1[~]#





    And that's as far as I can get usefully. It responds to "help" or "dir" etc.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Try running the command

    startx

    Then posting the error that you will recieve.
    That will help in diagnosing what went wrong.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    root@tty1[~]# startx
    -bash: startx: command not found
    root@tty1[~]#

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    I got some interesting messages when I tried typing "startkde" including...



    xsetroot: command not found
    mkfontdir: command not found
    xset: command not found
    ksplash: cannot connect to X server
    kdeinit: Aborting. $DISPLAY is not set.

    The following installation problem was detected
    while trying to start KDE:

    Could not find 'iceauth' in path.

    KDE is unable to start.
    ksmserver: Cannot connect to X server

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    As root do this.
    Code:
    nano /home/yourusername/.xinitrc
    Put this one line in there.
    Code:
    exec startkde
    Hit Ctrl + x to quit and save your work.
    Then
    Code:
    su - yourusername
    Then try startx.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    -bash: nano: command not found

  7. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I can't believe that Mepisdoesn't have such an easy text editor as nano.
    If you know of a different text editor that Mepis has, try that.
    If you don't know, do
    Code:
    apt-get install nano
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    I can't believe that Mepisdoesn't have such an easy text editor as nano.
    Mepis DOES have Nano, normally. :S

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    I'm getting a new Mepis disk from local store, so I'll hopefully have no more problems. Or a set of entirely different problems. I'll let you know. Thanks for the help.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Northwest Pa USA
    Posts
    10
    I have experienced the same thing and the only way I could get my system back up was to reinstall.
    I'm sure there must be a less drastic way to do so but I don't know what it is as I am new to linux.

    SimplyMepis 3.4-3

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •