Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
So Im a newbie to linux, last night I downloded Vector linux 5.1 NOT SOHO. I can't seem to burn the disc, can anyone recomend a free program to burn ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7

    Question Vector Linux


    So Im a newbie to linux, last night I downloded Vector linux 5.1 NOT SOHO. I can't seem to burn the disc, can anyone recomend a free program to burn the disc? I can boot on the disc, vector linux comes up but then it says it cant find somthing. So I need a program and if vector linux is not good for newbies a distro.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7

    error

    Im getting err=2 invalid compresed format

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    7

    Setup

    Im in setup but there is somthing wrong with veclinux.bz2. I have downloaded twice and burned 3 times, please help.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Try burning using deep burner. Assuming you are using Windows.
    http://www.deepburner.com/

    Just select "burn iso"
    Select "next"
    Make your choices,
    Selecting the burn speed, keep it low, 8x is good.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    18
    The disc is burnt too fast or you have some corruption on your hands. (with the iso)
    When I do music cds and os's I ALWAYS burn at 4x, I would go down to 2x lol but a lot of drives dont even support that anymore.
    I actually had this error before! I had to swap an old cdrom drive out of a coffin computer and swap a newer(actually refurb at frys lol) in and I got it to work. I burnt it too fast actually

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    10
    I have downloaded VL 5.1 STD And SOHO editions, as long as you burn them as ISO you should be set. The first time, I just burnt a Data disk containing the ISO (Of course it didn't work!)

    Did you ever get it to work?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •