Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Well I had windows orignally, then I installed xandros, now when my computer starts up the os selection screen is xandros controlled, if I remove xandros will it return to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8

    The xandros boot screen


    Well I had windows orignally, then I installed xandros, now when my computer starts up the os selection screen is xandros controlled, if I remove xandros will it return to normal?

    Just wanna know.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    If you remove Xandros the boot screen will still be the Xandros boot screen. To remove that you'll want to boot with your XP install CD, go to a Recovery Console when it asks you and type FIXMBR. This will reset the Master Boot Record (where the boot loader is stored) to the XP default.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    Can I do this with xandros installed?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by gentine
    Can I do this with xandros installed?
    You can, but why? If run FIXMBR you will lose all access to Xandros entirely. What do you really want to do here? I'm confused.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    I want the windows OS selection scree, but still be able to use xandros, If i edit my windows boot.txt as follows:
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOW S
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Micro soft Windows XP
    Professional" /fastdetect

    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\="XANDROS"
    wouldn't that work?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Oh. You want to configure the Windows bootloader to boot Xandros? It can be done, but it's a lot more work. I've not done this in a while, so I can't comment. Hang in there. Someone else will be able to help.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    Okay thanks anyhow.

    The only reason is becuase i can't start windows in safemode with xandros bootloader.

    thanks again.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by gentine
    Okay thanks anyhow.

    The only reason is becuase i can't start windows in safemode with xandros bootloader.

    thanks again.
    You should be able to.
    Xandros should be loading ntldr, which loads Windows.
    As soon as you select Windows from the Xandros menu, hit F8 or F5 to get you into Safe mode.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    You should be able to.
    Xandros should be loading ntldr, which loads Windows.
    As soon as you select Windows from the Xandros menu, hit F8 or F5 to get you into Safe mode.
    Oh thats works! THANK YOU VERY MUCH!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •