Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have just downloaded the .bin file of google earth and the .bin file of realplayer. How do you install these? I also downloaded firefox version 1.5.0.4. Its filename is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    24

    Unhappy Installing google earth, realplayer, firefox, etc.


    I have just downloaded the .bin file of google earth and the .bin file of realplayer. How do you install these?

    I also downloaded firefox version 1.5.0.4. Its filename is firefox-1.5.0.4.tar.gz. How do you extract and run it. I looked on the mozilla.com website, it said to:

    Linux/GTK2

    Extract the tarball in the directory where you want to install Firefox:

    tar -xzvf firefox-1.5.0.4.tar.gz

    This will create a firefox subdirectory of that directory.

    How do you do this?? For both Firefox and the Google Earth and RealPlayer. Thank you for your help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    For Firefox, you can either install from Xandros Network, or follow the instructions in my last post here :
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/deb...e-mozilla.html

    As for Google Earth :
    Code:
    chmod a+x googleearth.bin
    sh googleearth.bin
    will do the trick.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    24

    Running the command

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    For Firefox, you can either install from Xandros Network, or follow the instructions in my last post here :
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/deb...e-mozilla.html

    As for Google Earth :
    Code:
    chmod a+x googleearth.bin
    sh googleearth.bin
    will do the trick.
    How do you run that command?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Hehe, sorry.

    Do you have a program called "konsole" or "terminal" ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    24

    Konsole, etc.

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Hehe, sorry.

    Do you have a program caled "konsole" or "terminal" ?
    No, and where and how do I download and install them?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    You must have them somewhere. Either "xterm", "konsole", "gnome-terminal" or "aterm". Look in the "system" section of your menu. Or else you can install them with Xandros Network.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    24

    download

    how do you access the xandros network? and how do you use the konsole or terminal?

  8. #8
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by cyborg939
    how do you access the xandros network? and how do you use the konsole or terminal?
    Do you have the free version of Xandros? Or did you bought it. If you did buy it, than you can look in Xandros manual.

    Or you can always access a console with the following keyboard combination : CTRL-ALT-F1. To go back to graphical mode : CTRL-ALT-F7.

    Also, have a look at "how-to install programs in Xandros" (by our friend techieMoe) :
    http://forums.xandros.com/viewtopic.php?t=7472

    And at "Getting started with Xandros" :
    http://forums.xandros.com/viewforum....04ea4c4b67584b
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    24

    free

    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Do you have the free version of Xandros? Or did you bought it. If you did buy it, than you can look in Xandros manual.

    Or you can always access a console with the following keyboard combination : CTRL-ALT-F1. To go back to graphical mode : CTRL-ALT-F7.

    Also, have a look at "how-to install programs in Xandros" (by our friend techieMoe) :
    http://forums.xandros.com/viewtopic.php?t=7472

    And at "Getting started with Xandros" :
    http://forums.xandros.com/viewforum....04ea4c4b67584b
    Yeah, i have the free version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •