Find the answer to your Linux question:
ok i have windows xp pro sp2 and i have 2 harddrives both set to cable select som my questions are does anyone know of a good tutuorial to install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question linux xp pro help plz :-)

ok i have windows xp pro sp2 and i have 2 harddrives both set to cable select som my questions are does anyone know of a good tutuorial to install linux xp pro? and can i install it on the hd that dosnt have windows? and how will i boot from that hd? also is it a very comfusing instillation process? and can i run it live?

as you can see im new to linux

Quote Originally Posted by 5922
    does anyone know of a good tutuorial to install linux xp pro?
    What Linux is it you are trying to install? As far as i know there is no Linux XP Pro, if there is, post a link and we can try and help. If not, what linux is it you are trying to install?

can i install it on the hd that dosnt have windows? and how will i boot from that hd? also is it a very comfusing instillation process? and can i run it live?
    Yes, you can install to the 2nd hard drive, booting between the 2 will be done through grub or lilo. and if the installer is any good, it will set this all up for you anyway
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

it seems linux xp does exists: http://distrowatch.com/table.php?distribution=linuxxp
    its for russian speakers by the way.

personaly, i dont like distros that try to use the MS operating system names, like A-linux tried to do. i guess the Linux xp team isn't gettig any "cease and desist" letters from microsoft because nothing will be enforced in russia.....

since you are new to linux, one thing you must keep in mind is that linux is not a microsoft imitation. its a distinct operating system.