Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi to all out there. I am a newbie to this forum. I am facing problems uninstalling Linux and re-installing Win XP. Hope someone can help me out. I installed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to Uninstall Linux and Re-install Win XP?

Hi to all out there. I am a newbie to this forum. I am facing problems uninstalling Linux and re-installing Win XP. Hope someone can help me out.

I installed Radix Linux from www.radixsystems.com early this year on my P3 800 MHz PC after attending a Linux course. Basically, I only wanted to have some practice on the Linux system. Installation of Linux was not a problem - I replaced the Win XP OS completely with Linux. Since then, I think I had enough Linux practice.

So I tried to uninstall Linux and reinstall Win XP but was unsuccessful. Below is a step-by-step description of what I did and what happened:

1. Changed BIOS settings to boot-up first from CD-ROM drive

2. Put Win XP CD into CD-ROM drive

3. Restarted PC

4. Display shows "Press any key to boot up from CD drive"

5. Pressed a key

6. Display shows "Inspecting your file configuration" (or something to that effect)

7. Display goes black immediately after that. (CD-ROM light was off. However, PC's light was on but was not blinking. The PC/display remained in this state even though I waited for more than 1 hour.)

8. I finally gave up and did a forced shutdown of the PC by keeping the on/off button pressed for a few seconds.

I don't think my Win XP CD was defective. (I also tried a Win XP SP 2 CD but the result was the same.) I searched this forum and found that some other people have raised this problem some time ago but there seemed to be no conclusive solution.

What I need is a step-by-step guide on what I should do. Thanks in advance

oz
    forum.guy
    Here's a step-by-step guide directly from Microsoft on how to do it:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=247804