Find the answer to your Linux question:
For the For-What-It's-Worth category: PC newbie here (15 months off and on over several years; several years on Macs though) feeling like I'm "on the run" already "away" from 'Windows' ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Exclamation Day One results (impressive!)

For the For-What-It's-Worth category:

PC newbie here (15 months off and on over several years; several years on Macs though) feeling like I'm "on the run" already "away" from 'Windows' after a scare from a seemingly very dangerous spyware program (a "dialer.exe" one--thus, maybe a "dialer" ["modem hijacker" ]one)....and so, after favorable results trying out Linspire Live from a CD,I decided to try to screw up some nerve and try to
    1. add a second hard drive
    2. get Linux, as in Linspire, installed and up on it and thus be able to , if and when necessary, watch " Windows" disappear in the rear-view mirror as it's behind left behind...

Results:
    1. installing the HD via a new external HD enclosure:
    the enclosure only recognized about 8 GB of the 150 GB hard drive put into it. And, the PC refused to boot to this hard drive (so--at least from my tentative understanding of things --this would seem to mean a pretty hard-pressed situation to try to get the Linspire installed at least in a usable way).

2. Another try with a second, different (different brand) new external HD enclosure: basically the same result, onlly 7.75 G recognized and PC wouldn't boot to it, despite the settings in the bios being changed

3. decided to take a chance and try to install the HD right in the PC, which looked chancy especially, due to the PC having an SATA drive while the 160 GB one to be installed, is an ATA/IDE, and the one IDE
    plug available seemed to be in the slave position of the ribbon going to the CD-rom.