Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm pretty new to Linux. I decided to get off the M$ roller coaster, but I'm stumbling over a few of the Linux gotchas. I have a laptop that seems ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Access problem

I'm pretty new to Linux. I decided to get off the M$ roller coaster, but I'm stumbling over a few of the Linux gotchas.
    I have a laptop that seems to want to force me to always log in with root access.
    I can't save anything in Mozilla Thunderbird. No way no how. I can't even see my home directory from within it.
    I can't open my cdrom unless I select eject. But that only works from my root access.

Is there a fix for this or do I have to give my user id root level access?

Just Joined!

Hemant

Kal check that you r a member of audio, vedio user group.

Just Joined!

Angry

I am in both groups. I tried adding myself to EVERY group, but then my ID started giving me messages about corruption. When I returned it to the original settings, I was able to use the ID, but the original problem was still there.

How do I go about creating a second admin ID? I'm thinking of starting with an admin ID and then slowly remove functionality until I can do what I need, without having to use a full-blown admin account.

Just Joined!
    I "think" there is only one admin possible, but your problems are really odd. What version of linspire?
    Did you create your user from Launch >>> Settings >>> Additional Options >>> User Manager?

Just Joined!
    I am using Linspire 5.0. I believe that I did use the User Manager to create my personal ID.

Just Joined!
    hmmm....
    Quote Originally Posted by Kal Durak
    I can't save anything in Mozilla Thunderbird.
    Are you trying to "Save as" your emails? What is the error message?

Quote Originally Posted by Kal Durak
    I can't even see my home directory from within it.