Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a newbie to linux and have fedora 5 installed but cannot get my wireless adapter working. I have seen linspire as being easy for newbies and has lots ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need infor bout linspire

I am a newbie to linux and have fedora 5 installed but cannot get my wireless adapter working. I have seen linspire as being easy for newbies and has lots support but I have just seen someone mention that to download stuff from linspire costs money. Is this correct. I thought linux had to be provided free. I have just downloaded the iso but dont want to install it if aything else needs to be paid for.

Quote Originally Posted by Enigma 2100
    I am a newbie to linux and have fedora 5 installed but cannot get my wireless adapter working. I have seen linspire as being easy for newbies and has lots support but I have just seen someone mention that to download stuff from linspire costs money. Is this correct.
    Welcome to the forums, and to Linux. Linspire is one of a few commercially-sold versions of Linux out there (the group includes Xandros, Turbolinux, and a few others). Until recently the only way to get a hold of Linspire was to pay for the distribution (around $50USD). Even then, if you wanted to use their Click N Run Warehouse application to install things you had to subscribe to it for $5USD a month. If you purchased it you got 6 months free.

Now however that is not the case. Linspire offers a free version called Freespire, downloadable from their website. Also, the basic Click N Run Warehouse service is now available for free, even if you don't purchase Linspire and use Freespire instead. I recommend digging around a bit on the Linspire and Freespire sites for more information:

http://www.linspire.com
    http://www.freespire.org

I thought linux had to be provided free.