Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
since freespire uses Debian packages, what are the (shells) commands i use in order to install something. say for example i have realplayer.deb (just an example).. 1.what commands do i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie patrickv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    134

    Unhappy software installation


    since freespire uses Debian packages, what are the (shells) commands i use in order to install something.

    say for example i have realplayer.deb (just an example)..
    1.what commands do i use ?
    2.where i can get a good site that has all about install packages from commands for freespire ?

    ps-im not going for CNR,ill rather used commands.Please don't post anything about CNR..much appreciated.
    There is no knowledge that is not power

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    for deb use the dpkg command to install

    dpkg -i whatever.deb

    man dpkg for more info,

    also, if your distro is not debian based, then look for an app called alien, which converts between all the main package management systems.

    Just a question. Why use freespire if you are not interested in cnr, many other debian based distros work perfectly with apt?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie patrickv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    134

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by genesus
    for deb use the dpkg command to install

    dpkg -i whatever.deb

    man dpkg for more info,

    also, if your distro is not debian based, then look for an app called alien, which converts between all the main package management systems.

    Just a question. Why use freespire if you are not interested in cnr, many other debian based distros work perfectly with apt?
    because ive been hearing that CNR is not free.You have to buy your software.Also i cant get it to connect through proxy.
    There is no knowledge that is not power

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Okinawa, Japan
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickv
    because ive been hearing that CNR is not free.You have to buy your software.Also i cant get it to connect through proxy.
    CNR used to be not free. But now it (basic CNR) is free as of a couple of months ago or so. If you want you find more info on the linspire or freespire sites.

    I don't know about your proxy problem.
    -Cheers

  6. #5
    Linux User ImNeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    N. America
    Posts
    392
    Here's a great guide on how to disable CNR and use apt-get in Linspire - I assume it wouldn't be different for Freespire (but I may be wrong).

    But now CNR Basic is free, fyi.
    10" Sony Vaio SRX99P 850MHz P3-M 256MB RAM 20GB HD : ArchLinux
    14" Dell Inspiron 1420N 2GHz Core2Duo 2GB RAM 160GB HD : Xubuntu

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    107
    Well freespire has its own apt repo now so you can officially apt! Still not a good idea to pull stuff in from debian using apt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •