Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi I am a newbie and I need to install Open Office 2 on XandrOS by the way...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

OPen Office 2

hi I am a newbie and I need to install Open Office 2 on XandrOS
    by the way

Hi there,

I would suggest to download the newest tarball of OpenOffice. Uncompressed the tarball and follow the instruction. There should be a README file.

I checked for myself. The tarball is composed of a serie of .rpm files. With this version, you need to change directory to ~/RPMS. Then just do

rpm -Uhv *.rpm

It should install all the updates necessary.

Cheers

Just Joined!

Unhappy no can do

since xandros is debian it prefers to install via deb extention. it installs but i cannot find the icons in applications

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick England
    hi I am a newbie and I need to install Open Office 2 on XandrOS
    by the way
    If you bought Xandros 4 Premium, Open Office 2.03 is on the second CD.

If you downloaded 3.x, it should be on Xandros Network. Open Xandros Network and search for open office.

/skyekeeper

Just Joined!
    If Rick had purchased Xandros, I'm sure he would've installed OpenOffice 2.03.

Most likely he installed the OCE. I'd have to say one of the simplest ways to get the new version is do download either a .deb or .rpm extension file for Open Office. Then go to Xandros Networks and "Install RPM File" or "Install DEB File."

I believe that should take care of it.

Cheers,

x

Just Joined!
    I havent tried the OCE in a while, and although I did pay for X4 premium , so i could get the tech support (oy!). I decided to try and install OO myself.

Like most i tried dloading the installs and going that route.

THEN i discovered the joy of XN.

If you have Xandros Networks available to you i STRONGLY suggest you use them..