Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I had a computer installed Debian 3.1, Windows XP and Kubuntu. I decided to replace Kubuntu with Fedora Core 3 using Grub as a bootloader. Now I cannot boot with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4

    Angry Fedora Core 3 Grub Problem


    I had a computer installed Debian 3.1, Windows XP and Kubuntu. I decided to replace Kubuntu with Fedora Core 3 using Grub as a bootloader. Now I cannot boot with either Debian and WindowsXP below are the errors :-

    Booting Windows...

    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1

    error 13 invalid or unsupported executable format

    and ....

    Booting 'Debian'

    rootnoverify (hd0,5)
    chainloader +1

    error 13 invalid or unsupported executable format

    Lastly my /boot/grub/menu.1st files has something like this:-

    #boot=/dev/hda
    default=0
    timeout=5
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    hiddenmenu
    title Fedora Core (2.6.9-1.667)
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.9-1.667 ro root=LABEL=/1 ghgb quiet
    inittrd /boot/initrd-2.6.9-1.667.img
    title Windows XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1
    title Debian
    rootnoverify (hd0,5)
    chainloader +1

    Your help is greatly appreciated.

    Yastpop

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi yastpop !

    Welcome to the LinuxForums !!!

    post the output of 'fdisk -l' command. mount 'root' partition of Debian and post the contents of its menu.lst file.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4
    fdisk -l

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 1 1785 14337981 83 Linux
    /dev/hda2 1786 3548 14161297+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda3 3549 3610 498015 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda4 3611 4861 10048657+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hda5 4797 4861 522081 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda6 3611 4796 9526482 83 Linux

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post the contents of Debian's menu.lst file too.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    post the contents of Debian's menu.lst file too.






    Casper
    I am facing a problem of mounting /dev/hda were my Debian is residing. Let me work around to see if i can extract that data.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper
    post the contents of Debian's menu.lst file too.






    Casper
    Sorry i meant problem mounting /dev/hda6 where my Debian is residing...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    boot up Fedroa and execute this
    Code:
    su -
    mkdir /media/debian
    mount -t ext3 /dev/hda6  /media/debian
    check /media/debian folder and copy menu.lst file. its in /media/debian/boot/grub folder.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •