Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay, I'm VERY new to Freespire and fairly new to Linux. I have 2 hard drives on my system. The C: drive (20 GB) is storage and the D: drive ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Freespire killed MBR

Okay, I'm VERY new to Freespire and fairly new to Linux. I have 2 hard drives on my system. The C: drive (20 GB) is storage and the D: drive (120 GB) has 3 partitions. The first partition has XP(70+ GB), the second is a swap (100 MB) that Fedora set up and the third (40+ GB) is now Freespire. I have my BIOS set up to boot into the D drive so I'd assumed until installing Freespire that the MBR was on my D drive.

When I installed Freespire, it gave me a menu that I haven't been able to get back to that gave me a choice of installing Brub on my C drive or D drive. The interesting part is that it had MBR listed as being on the C drive so that's where I put it and just figured I'd been wrong about it's location. The boot order also got changed back to booting to C first. I changed that in my BIOS hoping that it would fix things, but no such luck. I tried uninstalling Freespire and that didn't help. I tried installing Fedora and that didn't help. I tried installing Freespire and that didn't help, but at least I figured out how to access my old files. Most of my files are backed up on an external hard drive that I can't write to using Freespire. I'm sure I can fix that later, but for now I'd just like to be able to boot into either XP or Freespire. Any ideas on how I can find my missing MBR and fix Brub to dual boot?

I also tried just reinstalling XP, but for some strange reason it always tells me I don't have enough space to do that. The only way that's possible is if it's trying to install itself on the smallest partition and even then I would think it would work.