Find the answer to your Linux question:

View Poll Results: How easy is it to install beryl/compiz/emeral/xgl/whatever-the-hell

Voters
4. You may not vote on this poll
  • Its not that easy but not to hard

    2 50.00%
  • Your a stupid no0b!

    2 50.00%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
So I want to install Compiz and I was looking at the Freespire Forums site which told me that I can do so with apt-get if I add 2 new ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! tux_can_fly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Where they cant get to me
    Posts
    25

    Talking Changing Source.list to install a file via apt-get?


    So I want to install Compiz and I was looking at the Freespire Forums site which told me that I can do so with apt-get if I add 2 new URLS to my source.list

    /etc/apt/source.list

    I dont seem to have permission to change this file even if I am logged in as root (Not CONSOLE, LOGGED INTO ROOT DESKTOP EVEN)

    Here is the freespire forums instructions

    deb http://apt.jasp.com freespire1 xgl (HOW!!!)
    deb-src http://apt.jasp.com freespire1 xgl

    * then do

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install xgl-config-control-kde

    Now you should be able to go into the control panel to turn on 'Desktop Effects'. Restart your session to see if it works.
    [edit]
    Beryl/Emerald

    Updated: 20061122

    Using the sources identified above:

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install xgl-config-control-kde
    sudo apt-get install beryl-config


    No need to start anything by hand. Simply enable Desktop Effects in control panel and restart.
    [edit]
    Freespire 2 Testing

    (1.1.57 onwards)
    Add this to /etc/apt/sources.list

    deb http://apt.jasp.com/freespire2/ freespire2/

    then

    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install desktop-effects-freespire
    sudo enable-xgl

    Please help me I beleive I need to know how to add to the source.list to get a better apt-get cache of stuff to download so its essential, Also I dont know how else to isntall compiz


    Cheers

    Vandad

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Try this:
    Code:
    sudo kwrite /etc/apt/sources.list
    Let me know if you have any more problems.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! tux_can_fly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Where they cant get to me
    Posts
    25

    Wink Installed, now to use it is something else !

    Thank you for the quick and helpful response!

    I tried what you suggested and kwrite did the job, I was able to edit my source.list and then updated it

    The problem is that with alot of things that I install on linux, there is no default desktop icon nor does it show up under my programs list

    I had to locate limewire and make a copy for it in order to put it on my desktop

    after I installed compiz/beryl / both ...I think> (Whatever it gives steps for in the freespire forum) I couldent find it


    I went under settings> additional options and I found out that I have a beryl settings manager and Emeral theame manager, neither help me in using these programs


    also on the freespire and other forums that talk about installing compiz ./ beryl it tells you to enable desktop effects, I have looked around in the look and feel and desktop parts of administrator settings and I have found nothing


    basicly I want to use compiz/emerald/beryl or whatever the hell I just installed


    thanks again for putting up with my noobery!



    despite all the extra work and trying and consoling, I AM SOOO ****ING GLAD I DONT USE MICROSOFT ANYMORE

  4. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Try launching beryl-manager. You can do so by typing beryl-manager at the command line.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! tux_can_fly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Where they cant get to me
    Posts
    25

    Exclamation Bah!

    Hi again

    So I tried typing beryl-manager and an error came up , I can find it really soon, another problem is that as soon as I typed it , my entire panel disapeared and my screen is different I cant acess my programs and I am only on firefox cause it was already open, I know that if I log off and then on again I will be able to get it back to normal, I want to post the terminal error for when I type beryl-manager but this textbox wont let me paste ? maybe its a problem on my end, I saved the session thow so im going to log off and try to find it / post it

    something to do with not finding something arother and something to do with my video card?


    UPDATE THIS IS THE ERROR MESSAGE

    Fnord@****up:~$ beryl-manager
    Fnord@****up:~$ XGL Absent, checking for NVIDIA
    Nvidia Present
    Relaunching beryl with __GL_YIELD="NOTHING"
    XGL Absent, checking for NVIDIA
    beryl: No composite extension

    I went from trying to use beryl to trying to not let it mess my computer up too badly

  6. #6
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Can you please post the contents of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file? Did you make any changes to this file?
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  7. #7
    Just Joined! tux_can_fly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Where they cant get to me
    Posts
    25
    when I type

    /etc/X11/xorg.conf into the terminal it says permission is deneid, even when I am root


    I can acess the page with the file manager adress bar

    what part do you want me to post?

    I dont think I tampered with it

    is there a way I could check and potentialy bring it up to par?

    youve been a great help so far, but right now without someone telling me these steps I dont know what the hell im doing

  8. #8
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    We're almost there - I think I know the problem.

    To get the contents of your xorg.conf, simply type:
    Code:
    less /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Copy and paste the output.
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  9. #9
    Just Joined! tux_can_fly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Where they cant get to me
    Posts
    25

    Post xorg.conf

    Man I promise that any no0b in the future, with a linux problem within my knoledge (future knoledge being not as limited, of course) will have my help I AM SO GRATEFUL

    Ahem ...

    here are the contents \

    Section "Files"
    ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/nvidia-driver,/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
    FontPath "unix/:7100"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/TrueType"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    Load "ddc"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "record"
    Load "bitmap"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "speedo"
    Load "type1"
    Load "vbe"
    /etc/X11/xorg.conf

  10. #10
    Just Joined! tux_can_fly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Where they cant get to me
    Posts
    25

    Unhappy one down, a new one to go !

    OKAY!

    Even thow I had tried to find it before, I finally found the enable desktop effects section and Beryl now works


    A HUGE PROBLEM STILL EXISTS, as there are many glitches, if I enter beryl settings manager, my desktop crashes and I no longer have any panels and cant open minimized windows,

    I also cant use the period button and was only able to get onto linux forums because I copy/pasted the . from my homepage, if I press the period buttun the screen wobbles

    Im sure the settings section might have a fix to this, but like I said it crashes,


    feel free to help here but incase your tired of my sillyness Im also going to post my problem in the beryl section or make such a section if one isent there


    mayee window mangers in general


    youve helped alot do you think my xorg file needs to be dealt with ? that might also fix the glitch




    UPDATE

    MY MAIN PROBLEM RIGHT NOW IS THAT ANYTIME I NEED THE BERYL SETTINGS EVERYTHING CRASHES, BUT I STILL CAN USE IT SO I CAN DEAL WITH IT

    THANKS FOR EVERYTHING MAN

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •