Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I've got a Toshiba 3110ct laptop, with a 300mhz processor and 192mb RAM. It's really slim, so it doesn't have an internal CD drive, but I do have a bootable ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Please Recommend a Distro for My Old Laptop

I've got a Toshiba 3110ct laptop, with a 300mhz processor and 192mb RAM. It's really slim, so it doesn't have an internal CD drive, but I do have a bootable floppy drive for it and a PCMCIA CD drive (that is not bootable, despite how much I want it to be).

Right now I'm running Windows XP on it, and it's ridiculously slow. I have another laptop of a similar model that's running Win 98, and it runs great, so I know that XP is just too much for this machine.

I am new to linux, I've experimented with some various live CDs, knoppix, PCLOS, but I think I'm most comfortable with Ubuntu. I've looked at DSL, that's a little too archaic for my needs, though I'd be willing to give DSL-N a try, but I'm pretty sure it hasn't been released yet.

So please, in your infinite linux wisdom recommend a distro for me that:
    1. - Will run like a champ on my 300mhz/192mb machine.
    2. - Has good hardware compatibility (for wifi and usb flash drive).
    3. - Relatively User-friendly
    4. - An installation that doesn't require a Computer Science degree, given the fact that I don't have a bootable cd drive.

Thanks for your help!

-C

DSL-N 0.1RC3 is ready and most of bugs have been fixed. DSL-N has a lot of new packages, 2.6x kernel and better hardware support.
    if you didn't like GUI of DSL, you wont like DSL-N too coz DSL and DSL-N have same GUI.
    Ubuntu will be a bit slow on your machine. try Xubuntu or anyother lightweight distro. check this thread.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!