Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 83
Copy everything, just as I detailed. One command per line, you are not supposed to divide sudo and cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt . You are also supposed to download the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #41
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064

    Copy everything, just as I detailed. One command per line, you are not supposed to divide sudo and cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt . You are also supposed to download the jre from java.com to your 'home directory'. There should be something in your desktop with a similar name
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  2. #42
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    all i know how to do is click download, i don't know how to get the stuff to a home directory, i don't have many options when i click download i can either "save to disk" or browse for something to "open with". after downloading is complete i get a blank icon labeled file:///home/jkutinsky/Desktop/jre-6u1-linux-i586.bin is there anyone out there that has experience with freespire and could tell me how to get the java download onto a home directory?
    im sure i have to send java to a home directory first but just for fun i tried the code stuff Juan Pablo suggested:
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ cd
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ chmod +x jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin
    chmod: cannot access `jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin': No such file or directory
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ sudo cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt
    Password:
    1111
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ 1111
    bash: 1111: command not found
    jkutinsky@computer:~$

  3. #43
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ sudo cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt
    Password:
    1111
    i have installed Freespire in my test machine yesterday and LimeWire working fine in it.
    are you press Enter Key at Password: prompt.
    type this at prompt:

    sudo cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt

    press Enter key and start typing your password. it will not echoed/displayed on screen, not even ******. just type correct password and press enter key.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #44
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    devils_casper i missed you, i am also incredibly envious of your test machines new found abilities. i assure you i cannot even begin typing my password without first pressing enter

  5. #45
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ sudo cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt
    Password:
    1111
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ 1111
    bash: 1111: command not found
    jkutinsky@computer:~$

  6. #46
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    devils_casper you have freespire, you have limwire, what do i need to do to join the club? please help me i realy need it

  7. #47
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ cd
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ chmod +x jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin
    chmod: cannot access `jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin': No such file or directory
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ ./jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin
    bash: ./jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin: No such file or directory
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ sudo cp -R jre1.6.0_02 /opt
    Password:
    1111
    jkutinsky@computer:~$ 1111
    bash: 1111: command not found
    jkutinsky@computer:~$

    whats that "cannot access" stuff about and how can i fix it, im using Juan Pablos instructions

  8. #48
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute ls command. Does it list jre-6u2-linux-i586.bin file? Where did you save that file?
    what do i need to do to join the club?
    Click on CNR Icon on Desktop OR look for it in Menu. It will open Freespire CNR home page in web browser. Click on Register button.
    Which version of FreeSpire do you have?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #49
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    im not sure if this answers your question but this is what i found, KDE version 3.5.6
    release: 2.6.20-9-lowlatency

  10. #50
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    kent, ohio
    Posts
    59
    Ive tried using CNR on the linspire website i created a free account weeks ago when another member of Linux forums suggested it, but CNR just wont work for me it says simply click the CNR button to download a program but when i click nothing happens. i even gave it a second try just now and it just wont work. even if i where to CNR limewire wouldn't i still need java?

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •