Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I downloaded the ISO and booted it up to see what it was like and was met with an install screen. I pressed F1 to 'install' it but was met ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18

    Question How the hell do you install nUbuntu?


    I downloaded the ISO and booted it up to see what it was like and was met with an install screen.
    I pressed F1 to 'install' it but was met with a Linux 'DOS' screen.
    I'm new to Linux and although I have installed lots of them in the past they were easy point and click ones.
    Can anyone help me and tell me what I have to type to actually get into the OS?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hi and Welcome !

    i think you have burned .iso image incorrectly. Select BURN IMAGE TO DISK option in your CD Burner package.
    .iso images are bootable by default. dont create bootable CD or burn as data disk.
    burn .iso file as an IMAGE only.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux User netstrider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    477
    I think the image was burned correctly since you were brought to some sort of bootup screen. However I think that your disk is faulty, or the iso you downloaded is faulty.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by netstrider
    I think the image was burned correctly since you were brought to some sort of bootup screen. However I think that your disk is faulty, or the iso you downloaded is faulty.
    if you select 'Create Bootable CD', most of CD Burners install DR DOS in first sector of CD to make it bootable.
    if TS is getting DOS prompt, he/she has to burn .iso again, as Image only.
    Quote Originally Posted by nimicitor
    I pressed F1 to 'install' it but was met with a Linux 'DOS' screen.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Yeah it was burned fine, it boots up when I start my PC.
    The DOS like screen says to use the sudo command but being new to all this I don't know what this means.

    (I would have thought being in the Ubunbu family it would have been just as easy to install)

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by nimicitor
    The DOS like screen says to use the sudo command but being new to all this I don't know what this means.
    could you post the exact message here?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    nUbuntu is not supposed to be easy to install, neither easy to use, is not even supposed to be used as a desktop, it's not part of the Ubuntu family.

    It purpouse is to test network security, it doesn't contain GNOME, not even X, it's a command-line operating system

    Better go with Ubuntu or Kubuntu
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Pablo
    nUbuntu is not supposed to be easy to install, neither easy to use, is not even supposed to be used as a desktop, it's not part of the Ubuntu family.

    It purpouse is to test network security, it doesn't contain GNOME, not even X, it's a command-line operating system

    Better go with Ubuntu or Kubuntu
    i didn't know that. thanx Juan Pablo !
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Linux User Agent-X's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Dimension X
    Posts
    261
    Did you get nUbuntu, nimicitor, to test networks?

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    could you post the exact message here?
    It was somthing like 'to run command as administator use sudo'

    QUOTE=Agent-X;482070]Did you get nUbuntu, nimicitor, to test networks?[/QUOTE]

    No, I thought it would be fun to try the hacking stuff out, little did I know they were in command line.

    Oh well ill try something else.


    Thanks for all the help.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •