Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, new forum user here! I'm very computer literate but some of the more in depth stuff is lost on me so take it easy! Here's the thing: I got ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Changing from Xandros to Ubuntu, Help please!

Hey, new forum user here! I'm very computer literate but some of the more in depth stuff is lost on me so take it easy!

Here's the thing: I got Xandros as a freebie on a magazine and have been using it a fair bit, but I don't think it suits me quite right and I want to try something else like Ubuntu. My dilemma is that I don't know how to uninstall it. Xandros itself doesnt seem to provide any way of uninstalling, so I thought I should delete the partition. New dilemma: I've never done anything with partitions before. I downloaded a partition manager but it didn't recognise the Xandros partition. So I continued the search and found out how do it with MS-DOS and a programme called diskpart. When I got it to list the partitions it showed 4...

Partition 1 - Primary - 43GB
    Partition 2 - Extended - 13GB
    Partition 3 - Logical - 1505MB
    Partition 4 - Logical - 11GB

I've read a bit and gathered that i need to get rid of the two logicals then the extended.

Now, finally, here's my question: is this safe? Or: is there an easier way to do this?

Any help would be appreciated
    Patrick

Just Joined!
    As with many distributions, one of the first parts of the ubuntu installation process will allow you to re-layout all your partitions.