Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Ok, I had PCLinuxOS insalled on one of my laptops but I wanted to be able to also boot Windows, because let's face it. There are just too many good ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Installing PCLinuxOS on partition without reformating entire drive

Ok, I had PCLinuxOS insalled on one of my laptops but I wanted to be able to also boot Windows, because let's face it. There are just too many good programs for Windows that aren't available on Linux. That, and I am a Windows programmer and I don't want to have to bring two laptops with me everywhere I go. One with Linux installed, and one with Windows.

So last night I reformatted my hard drive on my Linux laptop and created two partitions. One is 51.7gb formatted to NTFS where I installed WindowsXP , and the other is 22.7gb formatted with FAT32 for Linux.

Now on to my question. How do I install Linux onto the empty FAT32 partition without reformatting the entire drive and as a consequence erasing my Windows XP intall. The catch is I want to do it from the GUI installer with PCLinuxOS.

Basically I need to know what options to click/set when using the GUI installer.

Thanks in advance.

Just Joined!
    Deep Jungle, Ecuador (Formally a British citizen)

Install PCLinuxOS 2007

Hi Nick,

hope this helps:

Partitioning/0.93 - PCLinuxOS Documentation Wiki