Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
This is a really dumb question but i've never had to deal with this before. I have a computer with the server version of Ubuntu installed on it which is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    59

    How do you uninstall/reinstall a distro?


    This is a really dumb question but i've never had to deal with this before. I have a computer with the server version of Ubuntu installed on it which is not recognizing the internet. Someone recomended i install PCLinuxOS. How do i uninstall Ubuntu and install PCLinuxOS?

  2. #2
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    If you're wanting to give the whole hard drive over to PCLinuxOS, then it's just a matter of rebooting with the CD/DVD in the tray.
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    No need to uninstall anything... just install the new distro of your choice right over the old distro using the same partitions.
    oz

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Harihar, India
    Posts
    11
    When you put in the disk of new linux, and format the partition which had the old one, it automatically gets uninstalled!!

  5. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by HosaLinux View Post
    When you put in the disk of new linux, and format the partition which had the old one, it automatically gets uninstalled!!
    I like to say automagically!
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    59
    It didn't seem to do that when i rebooted with the CD in the drive, but i think that's because i burned the image on a CD-RW and i'm not sure if the drive on that computer can read RW's. Does it work to burn an image on a CD-RW/DVD-RW?

  7. #7
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    Does it work to burn an image on a CD-RW/DVD-RW?
    That's what I've always done... Just make sure that you check the md5sum. And if you still have problems, you can try to burn at a lower speed.

    *EDIT*

    I've also seen suggestions about switching brands of CD's/DVD's.
    Last edited by jayd512; 03-16-2009 at 09:38 PM. Reason: afterthought
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    59
    The reason it wasn't working was because the BIOS wasn't configured to boot from the CD drive. Except I have a different problem now, PCLinuxOS won't run

  9. #9
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Xelaric View Post
    The reason it wasn't working was because the BIOS wasn't configured to boot from the CD drive. Except I have a different problem now, PCLinuxOS won't run
    Define "PCLinuxOS won't run". You cannot get it to boot, or install? Any errors or warnings of any kind?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    59
    When i try to run the LiveCD an error message pops up saying "error reading boot disk" on one of the CDs i have, then the other one i have the screen just goes blank

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •