Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, Newbie just switching from XP. Loaded this OS on my PC and laptop. The laptop is working fine. The PC has a problem. I have a dual boot with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't log in to PCLinuxOS MATE

Hi, Newbie just switching from XP. Loaded this OS on my PC and laptop. The laptop is working fine. The PC has a problem. I have a dual boot with XP, but no problem there. I have two users and can't get into either one. The log-in screen does not accept keyboarding, and there are no questions as before (name and password). All I can do is restart, and the same thing happens again. Any suggestions? Do I need to reload the program? This is my first attempt at Linux and I am pretty ignorant about this. (P.S. the only thing I am aware of that I changed before the problem was I loaded my Xmarks bookmarks into my Firefox, but that doesn't seem likely to have affected the log-in.) Thanks for any help!

Hi harvwald! Welcome to Linuxforums and to PCLinuxOS!

About your problem, i suspect that you didn't set up a root user (name and password) when you installed PCLinuxOS on your PC. i suspect you might be able to "fix" it by using the install disk, but i'm not familiar enough with the process. The "easiest" thing might be to just reinstall, making sure that at the end of the install process, you create your root password and well as your personal account (name and password).

Hope this helps - i saw you over there on the PCLinuxOS forums as well. Have a great morning!

Just Joined!