Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Ok so I installed PCLinuxOS and it's wonderfull. Everything is great except I can't seem to change my screen resolution. I tried the PCLinuxOS control panel, changing it through the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15

    help me fix my resolution PLEEEASE


    Ok so I installed PCLinuxOS and it's wonderfull. Everything is great except I can't seem to change my screen resolution. I tried the PCLinuxOS control panel, changing it through the kde control panel and even tried configuring xorg but still no luck. Please tell me how to change the xorg.config file so I can use either a 1024x768 resolution or a 1280x1024 one. I know my computer and monitor damn well supports it and I donno whats the matter. PLEEEEEASE HELP ME ILL GIVE YOU A COOKIE.. and well here's my xorg.config file...

    # File generated by XFdrake (rev 41554)

    # ************************************************** ********************
    # Refer to the xorg.conf man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # ************************************************** ********************

    Section "Files"
    # font server independent of the X server to render fonts.
    FontPath "unix/:-1"

    # minimal fonts to allow X to run without xfs
    FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
    AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
    #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
    Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
    Option "XkbOptions" "compose:rwin"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    Option "ButtonMapping" "1 2 3 6 7"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "monitor1"
    VendorName "Plug'n Play"
    ModelName "e17t4"
    HorizSync 30-80
    VertRefresh 56-76

    # Monitor preferred modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 64.0 kHz hsync, ratio 5/4)
    ModeLine "1280x1024" 108 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync

    # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
    # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

    # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
    ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "device1"
    VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc."
    BoardName "ATI Radeon (fglrx)"
    Driver "fbdev"
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "screen1"
    Device "device1"
    Monitor "monitor1"
    DefaultColorDepth 16

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubsection

    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "layout1"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    Screen "screen1"
    EndSection

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    c'mon anybody? I know this should be simple, theres gotta be someone who can tell me how to do it. For some reason I just can't figure it out

  3. #3
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Hi ges531 and welcome to Linuxforums.

    How many resolutions is XFdrake giving you the choice of? Is your monitor and card listed in XFdrake? I'm no expert on ATI, but you may need to change to a different driver in Linux to achieve the resolution(s) you prefer. You could also attempt to configure your xorg.conf "by hand." With your favourite text editor as su...

    In the section:
    Code:
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
    Change the "Mode" to the resolution you want and restart X server. As a for instance, let's say you wanted 800x600. You would change it thusly:
    Code:
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "800x600"
    EndSubsection
    You can also change it to where you have the choice of more than one resolution. For instance...
    Code:
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubsection
    ...and so on. Try changing to the higher resolution than 1024x768 and see if you can get that. You are changing Depth 16 because that's what is selected in DefaultColorDepth above. Hope this helps some...

    EDIT: Just read somewhere that the problem could possibly be wrong vertical and horizontal rates. I'd check that to and make sure they are correct.
    Last edited by Dapper Dan; 12-04-2006 at 02:54 AM.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    204
    As Dapper Dan suggested you will need ati driver - http://www.pclinuxonline.com/wiki/SetupAti
    Elive,kanotix-mini,pclinuxos super gamer,xp, sidux

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks much. I appreciate the help. It's late right now and I want to try a few of the things you suggested when I'm in the proper mindset. As soon as I do I'll post an update.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Hey thanks for all who helped. Well clicked the link that user Beagle supplied and followed all those directions (http://www.pclinuxonline.com/wiki/SetupAti)
    They worked great and my whole resolution problem is solved.

    I've actually known about this driver and have tried installing it before but I never new I was suppose to download the stripped source kernel in order to properly install a driver like that. I actually didn't even know what a stripped source kernel was till I read a bit about it. I'm kinda new to linux but I'm starting to pick things up pretty fast.

  7. #7
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Quote Originally Posted by ges531
    I've actually known about this driver and have tried installing it before but I never new I was suppose to download the stripped source kernel in order to properly install a driver like that. I actually didn't even know what a stripped source kernel was till I read a bit about it. I'm kinda new to linux but I'm starting to pick things up pretty fast.
    Congratulations on getting it sorted! It's a great feeling when you tackle these types of problems, work hard instead of giving up and ultimately find resolution! You have exactly the right attitude to run and learn Linux!
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •