Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am a very newbie at RH 8.0, but I saw that RH had a C++ IDE called Kdevelop. I am trying to use that program, but I am really ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How do I setup Gcc and Kdevelop

I am a very newbie at RH 8.0, but I saw that RH had a C++ IDE called Kdevelop. I am trying to use that program, but I am really confused by a number of things. First I don't know if my gcc is working correctly. I know I installed it because when I type gcc it doesn't say command not recognized, and it tries to compile things but it runs into issues, and a bunch of error messages flash through the screen.

How do I know if my gcc is installed correctly. Can I re-install GCC sort of speak, and uninstall the old GCC so that at least I know that part of the issue is not a problem.

Now as for KDeveloper, I wrote a simple Hello world program, shown below
    Code:
    #include <iostream>
    #include <stdlib>

int main &#40;int argvc, char* argv&#91;&#93;&#41;
    &#123;
        cout << "Hello World" << endl;
        return 0;
    &#125;
    But the compile and run options on the menu aren't highlighted and I can't do either. What is up with that? Obviously it is something really stupid, and I just am not familiar enough with this enviornment or this program to figure it out. If somebody can give me a headsup I greatly appreciate it.

Linux Guru
    I can't help you with kdevelop, since I use emacs exclusively, but I can help you check if gcc is properly installed.
    First, try and compile the following program, with just the gcc command (remember to name the file .c, not .cpp):
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>

int main&#40;void&#41;
    &#123;
        printf&#40;"Hello world!\n"&#41;;
    &#125;
    If that works, try compiling your own program manually, with the g++ command (name that file .cpp, not .c).