Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
First of all, a disclaimer: I'm not a Linux programmer or guru. While I use the command line a little, and can write a simple shell script, I'm no expert ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Stopping a Shell Script Command

First of all, a disclaimer: I'm not a Linux programmer or guru. While I use the command line a little, and can write a simple shell script, I'm no expert in either.

I need to automate (i. e., unattended start and stop) the following shell script:

Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    cat /dev/video0 > /data/capture/$1
    The above script, when run directly, does exactly what I want, with no unnecessary overhead. I can start it with a cron job if I want, but how do I stop it at a particular time of day, or after a specific elapsed time?

I've wracked my brain (and done a fair amount of Googling) trying to come up with a solution, and come up empty. Anybody have any helpful suggestions?

Welcome Prototerm!

The easiest this is perhaps to schedule a kill.

Just killall name_of_process at certain times or at certain intervals.
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Linux User
    If you can use an elapsed time then you can do it in one script by running the command in the background (by putting an & at the end of the command) and then waiting that amount of time.

Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    cat /dev/video0 > /data/capture/$1 &
    _pid="`jobs -l | awk '{print $2}'`"
    sleep <no. of seconds>
    kill -TERM $_pid
    The 'jobs' command returns the PID of the background process.

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by vsemaska View Post
    If you can use an elapsed time then you can do it in one script by running the command in the background (by putting an & at the end of the command) and then waiting that amount of time.

Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    sleep <no. of seconds>
    kill -TERM $_pid