Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone, I am new to Linux and know nothing about it. I am currently working on my bachleors degree in network and communications management through Devry University Online. One ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

college student needs help with bash script

Hi everyone,

I am new to Linux and know nothing about it. I am currently working on my bachleors degree in network and communications management through Devry University Online. One of my classes this session is Netw240-Linux. I have to do a project proposal for this class and it is due by the end of next week. I have already found a script that I want to use for this paper. My problem is that I can not find anything that explains what each line of the script does. For this paper I have to take each line of the script and explain what it does and the purpose for it. I have googled and searched the linux website and I still can't find anything that explains script lines to me. I am not asking anyone to give me the answers, I just want to be pointed in the right direction so that I can find the answers on my own. I am at my wits end and didn't know where else to turn to to get help. Below is a copy of the script that I will be using for this paper. Thank you to anyone that can help me. Well, apparently it won't let me add the script to this thread. The script I want to use is to backup configuration files from mulitple servers using scp and I got it from the zazzybob website.

Just Joined!
    you have to wrap your code in code blocks (CODE inside of []'s)
    but i cant help you without knowing what you are talking about

Just Joined!
    What I have to do is explain each line of the script like this:

#!/bin/bash