Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello all, I have a webserver running on my home network, and I am trying to find the best way to have my dynamic IP address constantly updated to afraid.org. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Using a bash script to read my external ip address

Hello all,

I have a webserver running on my home network, and I am trying to find the best way to have my dynamic IP address constantly updated to afraid.org. I am currently trying to use the fdclient php script in order to update my ip address. however, it wants to read the external ip address from the output of another script.

It suggests using a script called getmyip.php, but this only outputs my local ip address.

I know that dyndns.org has "checkip.dyndns.com", but this doesn't output solely the ip address, which fdupdate requires. I am new to bash scripting, so does anyone know how i could take the page at checkip.dyndns.com and print only the ip address to a file that can be read by the fdupdate script?

Sorry if this is a very obvious thing to do. If someone could point me to a good tutorial or would care to explain it, i would be very thankful.

Thanks!

Ugly, but it works

Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    wget http://checkip.dyndns.com/ 2>1 /dev/null
    cat index.html | awk '{print $6}'|cut -d"<" -f1
    #rm index.html
    I commented out the `rm` because it removes things. The `wget` command creates a file called 'index.html' is the current directory, and appends a number if another index.html already is in the current directory. `rm`, if uncommented, would remove that and unless that is what you wanted, it would not be very nice. And you can direct `wget` to use another file as output. But it's not '-o outputfile' and I'm to lazy to look further
    Can't tell an OS by it's GUI

Just Joined!