Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I got my hands on a NAS box from work that runs linux. However, there are almost no applications installed on it. How can I put a compiler and other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7

    how to install compiler?


    I got my hands on a NAS box from work that runs linux. However, there are almost no applications installed on it. How can I put a compiler and other required utilities and libraries so I can install my own software? I assume I would have to download a precompiled version from somewhere, but how do I identify which one is right for me?

    Thanks for the help!

    - Carl

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    well which distibution do you use? and do you have root access?
    -lakerdonald

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7
    i'm not sure the distribuion, and that's part of the problem. :)

    how can i find out the distribution?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    paste the output of
    uname -a
    and more importantly do you have root access?
    -lakerdonald

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7
    uname -a doesn't work because there's no uname. this is a very striped down box.

    i don't have root access, but i do have rights to modify passwd and shadoing is not in use. so i'm working on root access.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7
    i now have root access. i replaced the /etc/passwd file with one i made on another computer. (couldn't find any editors on the box to use)

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    How could replace that file if you didn't have root access?

    To quote a wise man...

    Dat dont make no sense!
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7
    i don't know why, but /etc/passwd is world-writable

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it easier to just install some distro on it from scratch? Or is there something that prevents you from doing so?

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    7
    the reason i can't install from scratch is i have no access to the console. i only have telnet access.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •