Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everybody, i am new to multi-threaded programming in c, i need to debug a application which is using many threads. i am using eclipse with GDB debugger but it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Debugging Multithreaded Application

Hi everybody,
    i am new to multi-threaded programming in c, i need to debug a application which is using many threads. i am using eclipse with GDB debugger but it is not possible to debug it since it has a lot of different threads and i can not not debug it as wre debug in case of single thread(main) . So i would like to know, is there a way to debug such an application, if there is some tutorial that would be nice to know.??
    Thanks in advance.
    regards.

Debugging a event based multi threaded application is always hard. You can't simply step through to find out the cause of a problem. Mostly you'll have to reconstruct the callstack and set breakpoints at potential candidates. Anyway, this works only where the code is wrong. In case you have race conditions or missing locks, you won't become happy with that either and you will have to use your brain. A good start is always a well designed, reentrant and well locked logging system. Even if it is slow, it makes sure that log messages pop up as they come in. If there you see two or more log lines alter from time to time where they should be always in the same order, it most probably is a race condition.

Just Joined!
    Actually my application does not have any error. But some how the behavior is not according to expectations, since it has alot of code in different threads i dont know where to put breakpoints. is there a tool to debug the whole application and see what is happening inside.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Actually my application does not have any error. But some how the behavior is not according to expectations [...]