Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Im a newbie to bash scripting and have been trying to do some substituting I have this string : Code: gIssueSymbol^_string^_GAR.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int92837 gIssueSymbol^_string^_GOP.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int92874gIssueSymbol^_string^_GOL.TAR3 wPeopleSense^_int93837gIssueSymbol^_string^_RTE.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int91237 and I want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

bash regex to append text after a string

Hi

Im a newbie to bash scripting and have been trying to do some substituting

I have this string :
    Code:
    gIssueSymbol^_string^_GAR.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int92837 gIssueSymbol^_string^_GOP.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int92874gIssueSymbol^_string^_GOL.TAR3 wPeopleSense^_int93837gIssueSymbol^_string^_RTE.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int91237
    and I want to add a small s after the last u

so its gIssueSymbol^_string^_s for every occurence in the file?

i.e
    Code:
    gIssueSymbol^_string^_sGAR.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int92837 gIssueSymbol^_string^_sGOP.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int92874gIssueSymbol^_string^_sGOL.TAR3 wPeopleSense^_int93837gIssueSymbol^_string^_sRTE.TAR1 wPeopleSense^_int91237
    I've played around with sed and cant get it working - think im close though.

I think if I try :

Code:
    sed  s/gIssueSymbol^_string^_/s/ filename.txt >newfile.txt
    but its not working.

Can you please help!

Thanks

Your command is close. However, there are a few problems:

First of all, '^' is a special character in regular expressions that means "at the beginning of the string". If you want to use a literal '^' in your regular expression, you have to "escape" it:
    Code:
    sed 's/gIssueSymbol\^_string\^_/s/' filename.txt > newfile.txt
    You will also note that I've added single quotes: this is to prevent Bash from catching the backslashes instead of sed. Don't worry about it too much, but proper quoting is very important in Bash scripting.