Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi guys, i am having two small issues with a function i have made. sorry if it is a mess, i am still learning bash. the first is calling the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] else & return values.

hi guys,

i am having two small issues with a function i have made.

sorry if it is a mess, i am still learning bash.

the first is calling the nonpersistssh function (second line) and assigning the return value to nonpersistdiag. the function returns 1, but nonpersistdiag seems to only contain 0. i am unsure on how to proceed.

the second problem is the nested else clause on line 10. it is a syntactical error. how would i declare it correctly?

Code:
    function endsession(){
    	nonpersistdiag=$[nonpersistssh]	# a function that returns an exit code
    	sudo /etc/init.d/ssh stop; sshdiag=$?
    	sudo ufw deny $port; ufwdiag=$?
    	if [ $nonpersistdiag -gt 0 ] || [ $sshdiag -gt 0 ] || [ $ufwdiag -gt 0 ]; then
    		if [ $nonpersistdiag -gt 0 ]; then zenity --info --text="there was a problem with ensuring a non-persistent ssh environment"; fi
    		if [ $sshdiag -gt 0 ]; then zenity --info --text="there was a problem stopping sshd"; fi
    		if [ $ufwdiag -gt 0 ]; then zenity --info --text="there was a problem removing firewall rule"; fi
    		else zenity --info --text="There was an unknown problem.\n your computer may be insecure. restarting should fix it."
    	else
    		zenity --info --text="session closed, your computer is safe"
    	fi

}
    thank you.

Your syntax for the first one is incorrect. The $[...] syntax allows you to do math in Bash. You want $(...) syntax, which executes the given command and stores the output.

For your second, your syntax is a bit off. You get to have a single "if", any number of "elif"s, a single "else", and ending with a "fi". I don't know exactly what you want your logic to look like, but I am guessing that you want: