Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm new to solaris and i have some problem.. hope you guys can help me out. Currently i'm doing a script for my project and I want to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[SOLVED] Need help here! prevent terminal from closing!

Hi all, I'm new to solaris and i have some problem.. hope you guys can help me out.

Currently i'm doing a script for my project and I want to prevent people from exiting the terminal by clicking the "X" at the top right.
    so in short:

when I run the script,
    user cannot exit out of the terminal
    unless the scipt finish running.

Thanks alot !

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    As far as I know, you can't - it would depend upon the terminal window program that is running your shell. I know that the KDE kconsole program doesn't allow disabling the "close window" button under any circumstances. That said, you can do this in an X11 program by intercepting the close-window event. So, it comes down to whether or not you want to write your own X-term program that will handle this scenario. I think that is likely what you would have to do.

Anyway, maybe some other lurker here knows how to do what you want without a lot of custom C or C++ coding...
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the reply,

but just to add on,

I'm using bash for for this project and i heard from someone form other forum saying that trap SIGHUPs works... but i not sure how he did it.

There is definitely no way to do this. Even if it was possible for a particular terminal (that was, for some reason using something SIGHUP to kill processes), there is no guarantee that it would work for others.