Find the answer to your Linux question:
I have a script that I'm trying to use to backup my hard drive every night. The full backups are working flawlessly. I haven't figured out the incrementals yet. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

tar incremental help

I have a script that I'm trying to use to backup my hard drive every night. The full backups are working flawlessly. I haven't figured out the incrementals yet. I thought they were working when I first wrote the script a few weeks ago, but it doesn't seem to be working anymore.

I have a long script that I have a whole bunch of statements like this...

sudo tar -z --create \
    --file=/media/Backup/$(date +%y%m%d)_$(date +%H%M%S)_Pictures_Backup.tgz \
    --listed-incremental=/var/log/usr.snar \
    /home/david/Pictures/

To be honest, I'm not a Linux expert and I was really surprised when I started this venture that Linux filing system doesn't have an archive bit like NTFS does and we have to use a file to store the archiving information. But there's the file at /var/log/usr.snar. My theory is I just leave that file for a week so I can create one full and incrementals through the week. Then when I want to create another full backup (when I swap hard drives), I then delete that usr.snar file. I thought that worked a few weeks ago, but it doesn't anymore. When I start my backups, they backup every folder I have listed and not just the files that changed. My full backups are 165 GB, so I'd like to use the incremental feature.

I was really surprised when I started this venture that Linux filing system doesn't have an archive bit like NTFS does and we have to use a file to store the archiving information.
    Also NTFS does not archive your files, it's just a background services such as the system recovery or shadow copy service.