Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I need to write a shell script that will be run from cron every minute or so. The script will use rsync to keep some folders across several machines ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Making sure only one instance of script runs concurrently

Hi,

I need to write a shell script that will be run from cron every minute or so. The script will use rsync to keep some folders across several machines in sync. I am very new to shell scripting so some answers might seem obvious but they are not to me:

1. How do I check at the beginning of the script if the script is already running and abort if it is? I saw that most processes use a PID file for that but I am not sure this is the right case for that and in fact how to do it exactly
    2. Assuming the list of target machines/dirs to sync are supposed to come from some config file. How should I code that? Just use the normal shell tools that I already know (cut etc) or is there a better way?

Thanks,
    DB

Not exactly an answer to your question, but you might want to look at this nice tool:
    lsyncd - Project Hosting on Google Code
    You must always face the curtain with a bow.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for that Irithori.

I actually posted a different question a while back asking about which tools I can use to pull this off. lsyncd did not come up.

Seems like it's exactly what I need. One thing bothers me though... Reading the lsyncd project page, I see in "When to use" section:

Lsyncd is designed to synchronize a local directory tree with low profile of expected changes to a remote mirror. Lsyncd is especially useful to sync data from a secure area to a not-so-secure area.