Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Im fairly new to c++. There must be a better way to do the following?:- Say I have a base class, Pet. I have several child classes that extend ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

c++ Casting base class to child class?

Hi

Im fairly new to c++. There must be a better way to do the following?:-

Say I have a base class, Pet. I have several child classes that extend from this, like Dog, Cat, Fish etc.

I have the following function, that returns a pointer to a new Pet:-

Code:
    Pet* addPetToVet()
    {
            //Do some stuff
            return new Pet();
    }
    This will return a pointer an instance of a pet object.

now, if I want to interprete this pet as a dog or cat I have to do this:-

Code:
    Dog* dogA = static_cast<Dog*>(addPetToVet());
    Cat* catA = static_cast<Cat*>(addPetToVet());
    Is there a way around this? Casting seems lame. I cant write a function for each type of pet...

thanks

Joe

Quote Originally Posted by Joe2003 View Post
    Hi

Im fairly new to c++. There must be a better way to do the following?:-

Say I have a base class, Pet. I have several child classes that extend from this, like Dog, Cat, Fish etc.

I have the following function, that returns a pointer to a new Pet:-

Code:
    Pet* addPetToVet()
    {
            //Do some stuff
            return new Pet();
    }
    This will return a pointer an instance of a pet object.

now, if I want to interpret this pet as a dog or cat I have to do this:-

Code:
    Dog* dogA = static_cast<Dog*>(addPetToVet());
    Cat* catA = static_cast<Cat*>(addPetToVet());
    Is there a way around this? Casting seems lame. I cant write a function for each type of pet...