Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi guys, it's my first time here, and unfortunatelly isn't for help someone, but i'll soon! My issue is: I'm doing a script to make some task but I would ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

[Solved] Function to close the script

Hi guys, it's my first time here, and unfortunatelly isn't for help someone, but i'll soon!
    My issue is:
    I'm doing a script to make some task but I would like to know how can I do the part to check the bu.log ? Cause if the files exists it will send me an email with the log, but when the file doesnt exist it will send a blank emal that why i would like to 'check the file' and if there isnt will end it.

#!/bin/sh
    x="$HOME/bu.log"
    if [ $x ]; then #if the file exists will do
    for file in *.log
    do
    i=${file%.*} #Will get me the name of the log without extension and send as subject
    cat bu.log | mail -s "$i" MYEMAILANDMYPROVIDER
    rm $HOME/arq.log
    done
    fi
    How can I edit the funcion to check if there isnt an arq.log and close the script?
    Thanks
    Last edited by tiagokb; 02-13-2011 at 02:41 PM. Reason: solved

Just Joined!
    First a remark: For my taste, I would not use the word file as a name for a variable because there is a Unix command with the same name. But it will not cause any trouble if the script is written correct. So, this is just a matter of taste.

Regarding your question to check whether a file exists, the simplest test is:

Code:
    if [ -e "$x" ]; then
    I would enclose the variable in quotes just in case the path or filename contains spaces.

The [ ] are a nicer looking equivalent for test. In bash, test is a builtin command, but it also exists as standalone program: /usr/bin/test. Therefore, this line would be equivalent the line above:

Code:
    if `test -e "$x"`; then
    The options for test are documented in the manpage for test. Here is an excerpt from man test:

Code: